Lines 5

Forest

Tomas Byrne
Life as Art
2 min readApr 4, 2023

--

Image by Dorothe from Pixabay

The middle of a forest
A cold dark place covered in dead leaves
That the sun has abandoned
There it beats a constant beat
Waiting in silence to awake
Something stirs it back to life
A sense that matters, something weak
Wakes it out of its slumber
An eye for its place
A threat or chance waiting
Cower in fear or grasp and conquer

It beats a deathly rhythm
Not perfect to the perfect ear
A lost human quality, the accepted flaws
Let me out of here, free my song
Take me back, to what matters
Give me something to love
For I now beat for no one
Only if I beat with another
Can my rhythm be one

I will break free from these walls I have erected
I will forge a golden key and set myself free
I will oppose those who oppose me
Lost in this wilderness I will find love
Alone now I will find union of heart and common blood
In the clearing ahead, a path between the trees
Sunlight glints through the branches, a new plan
I will fall into the sun and burn with desire
My song is free

Thanks for reading!

Tomas

Please join my email list here or email me at tomas@tomasbyrne.com.

Copyright © 2023 by Tomas Byrne.

--

--

Tomas Byrne
Life as Art

Jagged Tracks Music, Process Philosophy, Progressive Ethics, Transformative Political Theory, Informed Thrillers, XLawyer tomas@tomasbyrne.com