One More Layer of Skin

A new song…

Tomas Byrne
Life as Art
2 min readApr 14, 2023

--

Image by Tomas Byrne

A tide of guns wash the shore
Mirage of need, no end in store
Salt of the earth can you see the light
To feed a child’s thirst, end this plight

Head in a tailspin, cries in the night
Memories that fade, feelings that die
Search for a reason, source of my doubt
Lying still cold in my heart

Search inside, how can this go on still
Search inside, can I find the will
Search inside, as the night comes marching
One more layer of skin
One more layer of skin
One more layer of skin
Oh, help me find my way in

Riding scattered faults in time
Digging trenches in my mind
A leap of faith to fill my days
I’m not the only one
To rage through rain
To find the sun

Search inside, how can this go on still
Search inside, can I find the will
Search inside, as the night comes marching
One more layer of skin
One more layer of skin
One more layer of skin
Oh, help me find my way in

Here in my mind’s eye, heavens above
Feel for the first time, rhythms of love
Find the meaning, lost in the dark
The beat of your soul, light of the stars

Thanks for reading / listening!

Tomas

Please join my email list or email me at tomas@tomasbyrne.com.
One More Layer Of Skin Copyright © 2023 by Tomas Byrne.

--

--

Tomas Byrne
Life as Art

Jagged Tracks Music, Process Philosophy, Progressive Ethics, Transformative Political Theory, Informed Thrillers, XLawyer tomas@tomasbyrne.com