Quotes

Robert
Life Through a Lens
4 min readSep 22, 2023

That I like …

James Joyce

I walked into a restaurant a few blocks north of the White House in Washington. DC, USA. The inscription below adorns the wall over the bar. I wasn’t even thinking of whiskey, but I definitely wanted a drink after reading it:

“The light music of whiskey falling into a glass, an agreeable interlude”

— James Joyce

Oscar Wilde

Oscar Wilde was an exceptional person and, like all the exceptional people of his time, he was well suited to his task.

“To be really medieval one should have no body. To be really modern one should have no soul. To be really Greek one should have no clothes.”

— Oscar Wilde

I really have no body, but I did take a physical form.

I am not modern, for I am Energy (thought, soul, spirit).

I definitely relate to the last in that I have no clothes, therefore I presume that I must be Greek.

That’s me ☝️

Alan Watts

I met Alan Watts once. I wish it was mutiple times.

“Our difficulty is that human consciousness has not adjusted itself to a relational and integrated view of nature. We must see that consciousness is neither an isolated soul nor the mere function of a single nervous system, but of that totality of interrelated stars and galaxies which makes a nervous system possible.”

― Alan W. Watts

Albert Einstein

Albert Einstein was a genius and very flawed. He was a human determined to seek Knowledge. Michele Besso, a good friend of Albert Einstein’s, died in Geneva, aged 81. In a letter of condolence to the Besso family, Albert Einstein wrote:

“Now he has again preceded me a little in parting from this strange world. This has no importance. For people like us who believe in physics, the separation between past, present and future has only the importance of an admittedly tenacious illusion.”

-Albert Einstein

Albert Einstein died one month and 3 days after his friend.

James Hollis

Like Carl Jung, James Hollis confuses me. A goood confusion that requires me to stop and think. Afterwards I am usually more confused. This quote, however causes no confusion.

“It would seem that two mighty threads bind me into this consciousness. Both are similar, complimentary, yet not so similar as to be liquid and dissolve within each other. Carl Jung and Alan Watts are these two threads. They seem to have come together for me to hold me close to the Quantum Idea that underneath it all one piece of energy (Quantum Energy), also know as Thought (or maybe perceived Thought) evokes our reality. That, indeed, we are truely that mythical creature called god.”

-James Hollis

Esther Hicks

I never heard of Esther and Jerry Hicks, nor Abraham Hicks. I soon became acquainted with the three.

Who you really are is Nonphysical Energy focused in a physical body, knowing full well that all is well and always has been and always will be. You are here to experience the supreme pleasure of concluding new desires, and then of bringing yourself into vibrational alignment with the new desire that you’ve concluded — for the purpose of taking thought beyond that which it has been before.

Our Love.

Esther (Abraham and Jerry)

--

--

Robert
Life Through a Lens

Shamanism, Buddhism, Reiki, Naturism, Animism are the stones that lay my path. Do we need others to tell us how we must walk? We all have the same destination.