Notes from the CT

Patricia George
Life At 5280
Published in
6 min readSep 18, 2023

Originally posted on Facebook. I’m putting this in Medium to keep it as part of my memories of the CT.

Sept 8 in Silverton — Notes of Days 1–3

CT update: Days 1–3 of the CT were incredible. Incredibly challenging, incredibly beautiful, incredibly vast, incredibly high, incredibly cold in the mornings, incredibly humbling, incredibly friendly (chatting with fellow hikers and riders along the way), and incredibly beyond what I expected.

I dug a little bit of a hole going out of Durango on day 1, so my muscles (legs, upper back, neck) have been so sore that I decided to take a rest day in Silverton (with shower, laundry and bike shop check) and plan the next. Feeling better by the hour. Enjoying this time away.

When you’re solo on the trail so many things go through your mind. Of course reviewer #2, my inner voice, challenges me on why I’m doing this at all. She critiques my attempting this and preparing between my professional responsibilities. She drags up all the things from the recesses of my mind for me to rechurn (and then toss away because up on the trail they are not important). And I let her ride with me and said “Let’s just get to Silverton.”

Also I attempted this 2 years ago. I don’t remember it being this hard. I must have been fitter then, my mind starts to say. Comparison (especially with an idealized past) can be quick to kill one’s joy.

So I’m here. Now. And now is the time to ride not race, to ride for hope and love (for this trail, for this planet, for myself, my family, friends and colleagues). Because of my muscles these past days I have seen the most incredible views, noticed butterflies of every color, seen wildflowers all around, breathed in the green mountains, viewed completely different looking mountains on each side of a mountain pass, cheered for hikers finishing their through hikes into Durango, felt the good vibes from fellow travelers helping me to keep going.

I am grateful to the health to be able to do this. I acknowledge the huge privilege I have that allows me to do this. This is the good life.

As Jay Petervary would say, #RideForward (heal up, Jay!).

Sept 8 Rest Day Notes

This is what a good recovery day looks like. Good solid food, laundry drying outside in the sun over lunch, getting the bike checked (all good), and more huge calories for dinner. I’ll burn all of this and more in the next few days. Stretch. Now time to pack the bike, then a hot shower and then lights out. Plan to roll out early tomorrow back to the land of no cell phone or wifi. It’s another big day of climbing in high country. This next push is to Cathedral Ranch Cabins in likely 2 days. As my friend Hap says, though, I’ll take what the trail gives me.

Last but not least, thank you all for the positive vibes. It means a lot.

Notes on Sept 9 out of Silverton

Hey Friends — The day after rest day back on the bike was intense. Muscles were better, and overcame some first time challenges to get out of Silverton a little later than expected. Climbed out of Silverton to the top of Stony Pass at 12,650 feet, but on my way up realized I just didn’t quite have it to safely go another 2 days in exposed high country and beyond. So I sat at the top of Stony Pass for a long time. Most of the time mountain passes are cold and windy but there was no wind and I felt warm in the sun. So I sat in absolute silence. Absolute peace. So quiet that I heard something loud overhead and thought, “Is that a drone up here?!” And no, it was a medium sized black bird way overhead just gliding in the wind. It was so loud. You’d never hear it in the city. I think that if that was the only special moment on the trail it would have been worth it, but the truth is there were a lot of special moments on the trail. As always the trail taught me a ton. Trail lessons are life lessons.

I am taking some time and recovering, and I am reminded how much I really love Colorado and am spellbound by the Colorado Trail, and how much I love riding my bike. I’ll be back. But for the next trips I’ll plan on doing individual segments (sectioning it) at a time and getting to know and enjoy the trail piece by piece. Maybe just maybe I can even get out there on the trail one more weekend before snow, even for a day trip. Either way, I’ll be back on the trail next year.

Thank you to all who sent well wishes, positive vibes, prayers, and all that. Thank you especially to my family, friends who supported me through this, and especially to Coach Jason Aloisio of Team Wilpers.

--

--

Patricia George
Life At 5280

Physician, athlete, and lover of the outdoors. Seeking to understand how we manifest our best selves. Inspired by hope. Opinions are my own.