Snowbiking again and purple bling

Patricia George
Life At 5280
Published in
3 min readFeb 9, 2021

Last November Team PH hosted the Tour of PHenomenal Hope Challenge, and when I watched docs, nurses, industry colleagues race for patients it was that moment that I decided it was time to get back on my bike for real. My fat bike had been stolen from inside my car when I was in New York, and I was on the fence about replacing it or using the funds for other endeavors. Well, November inspired me and I researched Colorado bike brands (this was important to me) and found the Why Cycles titanium Big Iron, had it built and even added custom Nextie wheels (check it out — I mean super snazzmo), and I chose purple hubs, pedal and bolts, because it reminded me of my PHriend, Ornah and her PHriends for Life t-shirts.

When I picked up my bike from Elevation Wheel Company (major shout out to Chris Murray) in Colorado Springs (a Why Cycles dealer), I told them the story of the purple, and how I couldn’t wait to share this with her.

This year I’ve been going to the mountains every chance I get, including this weekend, and even staying in a yurt and riding a nighttime virtual “race” called the Tennessee Pass Night Jam. I only put the word race in quotes because at one point I had to stop and snap a photo of the sunset. It was difficult. I overcame a bit of fear of riding by myself in the dark in alpine conditions. I also had a fear that my lights would stay charged long enough to make it back to the finish line. And let me say that right now, racing above 10,000 feet is no joke. It gives me an appreciation for feeling oxygen starved, a feeling many people living with PH experience in daily activities. Anyway, the fears and difficulties were assuaged. As hard as it was, I remembered I “got to” (not had to) ride my bike at night in the mountains on the snow (I mean, really, it’s totally cool). And I realized that last night I was not riding by myself. I felt Ornah’s hands on my back during the ride.

I remembered the time she rode the electric assist bike, and how she would do her chair peddler exercises, and wished she could be here riding riding with me, then realizing that maybe in fact she was now.

We go through these difficult moments, but whenever I ride and look at the purple bling on my bike, I am reminded of Ornah and even though I am devastated by her loss, remembering her spirit makes me smile.

#LetMeBeYourLungs #BigHope #PHriendsForLife #CarpeDiem

--

--

Patricia George
Life At 5280

Physician, athlete, and lover of the outdoors. Seeking to understand how we manifest our best selves. Inspired by hope. Opinions are my own.