Dream Destinations Become a Reality While at Work: A Reflection on ActionIQ’s Remote Season Benefit

ActionIQ
Life at ActionIQ
Published in
3 min readAug 28, 2023

From the keyboard of UnSun Lee, VP of Design

If you had told me before I joined ActionIQ that I would be able to have a Zoom call with a colleague who just arrived at their vacation rental in Cartagena, Colombia after a morning scuba dive or that I could spend a month this summer working from Tel Aviv, Istanbul and the Aegean Sea, I would not have believed you. But ActionIQ’s remote seasons allow me, and all other Actionites, to be able to work from anywhere in the world for 4 weeks during the summer and winter seasons. This has allowed me to be able to travel and experience working in new countries while also seamlessly collaborating with my colleagues — wherever they are.

Exterior of a bar in Tel Aviv, Israel
Visiting a bar in Tel Aviv, Israel

At age 12, I immigrated to the US from South Korea; the excitement and challenge of that huge cultural and language shift has definitely shaped who I am: adaptable, curious, and collaborative. Extensive travel throughout my life (58 countries and counting!) has just strengthened those traits. I love that the remote working option at ActionIQ continues to support that flexibility, helping me continue to build my skills in navigating different cultures, personalities, and objectives, all while not being fazed by the many curveballs of travel.

Does this require some extra coordination and planning (and sometimes some flexibility on working hours due to time differences) to make it work? Absolutely. But ActionIQ is so supportive of my remote time, and equips their employees with the tools needed for both asynchronous and real-time collaboration. And for people like me, with family and friends abroad but who also love face-to-face office time, this flexibility is an immeasurable benefit.

View from a day trip to the Burgazada island off of Istanbul
A day trip to the Burgazada Island off of Istanbul

Plus, I think ActionIQ is ahead of the game in realizing that people who are given the option to explore are happier, more productive, and ready to take on challenges (check out this article from Harvard Business Review.). I know for sure my creativity, which is a huge part of my job, is boosted by being somewhere with new things to smell, hear, taste, touch. And my colleagues agree. I could really tell — my colleagues didn’t just seem happy to be away and be working; they were happy to be doing their work in a new and meaningful location for them. It is amazing ActionIQ gives us this self-improvement opportunity without having to take PTO.

Arriving in Akyaka beach, Aegean seaside Muğla, Turkey
Arriving in Akyaka beach, Aegean seaside Muğla, Turkey

My remote season adventures teach me the invaluable lessons of tolerance, curiosity, and thriving in the unknown. And as I continue to explore the world and connect with colleagues who share the same spirit of adventure, I am reminded of the beauty that lies in embracing our differences and living life to the fullest.

Let the winter remote season planning begin for Buenos Aires!

ActionIQ is a leader in the massive and fast growing category of Customer Data Platforms (CDP). Our product brings order to customer experience (CX) chaos. ActionIQ’s CX Hub empowers everyone to be a CX champion by giving business teams the freedom to explore and take action on customer data, while helping technical teams regain control of where data lives and how it is used. We are backed by top-tier VCs Andreessen Horowitz, Sequoia Capital, and March Capital. Enterprise brands such as Autodesk, Bloomberg, The Washington Post, Hertz, Atlassian and many more use our CX Hub to achieve growth through extraordinary customer experiences.

Learn more at https://www.actioniq.com/

Read our product blog at https://www.actioniq.com/blog/

Explore our career openings at https://www.actioniq.com/careers/

Want to get in touch? Contact us: https://www.actioniq.com/contact-us/

--

--

ActionIQ
Life at ActionIQ

ActionIQ is a new kind of composable customer data platform for enterprise brands who want to grow faster and deliver meaningful experiences for customers.