Chimers Chime In: Expressing gender identity and creating a more inclusive workplace

Talent at Chime
Life at Chime
Published in
5 min readJun 28, 2023

The freedom to express gender identity at work is essential for individuals, groups, organizations, and the broader world. To celebrate Pride Month, our Chimer Resource Group OutChime grounded itself and Chimers across the organization in the theme of gender identity and expression. As their north star for all content and events during the month, they shared:

“Gender identity and expression are fundamental aspects of human identity, yet many individuals still face discrimination and violence based on their gender. We want to center the voices and experiences of trans and non-binary individuals, creating a space where people can explore and celebrate their identities without fear of judgment or harm.

We strive to create a welcoming and inclusive environment that honors and celebrates the diversity of gender identities and expressions. We believe that every person has the right to express themselves authentically and be recognized and respected for who they are, regardless of societal norms or expectations. We are committed to providing education, resources, and support for individuals of all gender identities and expressions, and advocating for greater understanding, acceptance, and equality for all.”

We sat down with Chimer Adam Kaplowitz (they/he) to hear how they express their own gender identity at work and some ways others can create an environment that is accepting, open, and celebratory of everyone’s identity.

Why is it important to express your gender identity at work?

“Gender identity is a major part of who you are, and so is your work. Because work is where we spend most of our waking time, we must ensure our identities are seen, understood, and supported there.

Being allowed to exist within the spaces you occupy most can make a big difference in your life. For example, if I’m at a grocery store and a bagger doesn’t respect my pronouns, it’s a one-off interaction and won’t affect me too much. But at work, which takes up such a large percentage of my day, I want the people I’m around to understand who I am. Ideally, my company and coworkers understand what non-binary is, why it exists, and the theory behind it, as well as respect that I truly identify as non-binary.

I’ve been in spaces where my gender identity was not understood or respected, and I simply didn’t want to share my pronouns for them to be used incorrectly. That means I can’t share that part of my identity with those in that space. As a result, they will never know how my gender identity impacts my opinions and the topics we’re discussing and working on.”

How do you bring your gender identity to work?

“There aren’t many ways to do that outside of existing as I do. I have my Zoom pronouns on and try to make others aware of them. If someone asks me to go any deeper, I share with them.

At Chime, I bring my gender identity to work by existing authentically and seeking out opportunities to express it, such as being a member of OutChime.”

How can people be more welcoming of gender identity at work?

“This really comes down to education and doing your own research — instead of going to the nearest non-binary person, do the work yourself.

I recommend looking for information on marginalized groups, listening to stories, and reading articles that are inclusive of those groups. We all read and see a lot in headlines and the media, but the kind of research I’m talking about is hearing from the marginalized groups themselves. Find resources made by programs that are run by and for people from the queer community. Learn about where gender identity comes from, the history behind it, where the idea of nonbinary stems from, and the trans experience.

Even as a non-binary person, I’m the first to admit that I’m not an expert and I’m always learning. And while I’m happy to be a resource to those I work with, it’s easy for folks to do the research themselves and I believe that in doing so, they create a more welcoming environment of all gender identities.”

Some helpful resources:

Why is it so important for folks to do their own research in order to create a welcoming environment for gender identity?

“It’s perfectly natural to have questions about things you don’t understand, and chances are, your questions have been answered online already. It’s important to take the steps to learn those answers on your own so you aren’t taking up emotional space for those you are trying to understand. And, when you consult resources beforehand, it’s a great opportunity to come into a space and ask informed questions in a way that ensures everyone’s safety.

Ultimately, doing your own research is about building understanding and empathy and seeing people for who they are. I appreciate when people do their research to understand the concept of being non-binary so they can then just get to know me as a person.”

Adam’s insights show that even the small actions people take to be better educated can make a huge difference to someone’s sense of belonging and ability to live authentically at work and beyond. We can all take notes from Adam’s ideal world — where “My company and coworkers understand what non-binary is, why it exists, and the theory behind it” — to be better allies by being curious and trying to understand the diverse perspectives surrounding us.

At Chime, we place a large emphasis on creating safe spaces for expression, such as in our Chimer Resource Groups (CRGs), at events, and through certain office practices — including displaying pronouns on Slack and Zoom and gender-neutral bathrooms. We recognize that each of us is responsible for creating inclusive workplaces for everyone to thrive in, from individual Chimers to our Workplace and Events teams, all the way to our leadership team. We strive to educate ourselves, listen to other’s perspectives, and celebrate diversity at every turn — so that every Chimer can express their full, authentic selves at work.

--

--