A Worthwhile Two Years and Counting

Sakshi Gupta
Life at Collegedunia
3 min readOct 15, 2019

By Sakshi Gupta

My love for writing has always kept me yearning to never put off my writing gloves. Since school, the pen has been my friend and as of now, we can say keyboard.

So after staying and desperately looking for a job for nearly 3 months, one day, I get an opportunity to apply for Collegedunia.

Well, not much aware of the company and work culture, I planned to give it a try anyway. And, would I ever be thankful enough for that.

Cut to: August 2, 2017, my joining date. Being my punctual self, I reached before time and waited for 20 mins before climbing the stairs. (Didn’t wanna make a fool of myself by reaching and finding the closed door)

After 20 mins, I climbed up those stairs and entered Collegedunia. As I entered, I was overwhelmed by seeing the chilled environment. The hustle-bustle, some had crashed on bean bags, some on couches, some on their chairs and the office had GOT theme. (Well, do I have to say more?) That day I knew what Start-Up feel feels like.

It is my first job and the journey has been nonetheless a great learning experience. Now many of you might be of the perception that who sticks to their first job for so long, it’s just what Collegedunia does to you.

Coming back to my first day, other than a very welcoming office feels and my ‘larger-than-life’ dreams, there was this one ritual here that made me feel like running away. Okay, so something that not many of my colleagues would agree now, is that I was and am an Introvert. The first day I walked in, post my orientation, HR came to me and asked me to go to every seat of that office and introduce myself. I was like, “Whaaaaatttt, every person?” She politely nodded and enjoyed my introvert self on the way to get embarrassed. (I did introduce myself to everybody one-by-one). It doesn’t end here, picture abhi baaki hai mere dost moment.

After I successfully embarrassed myself and went over the lot in a jiffy, I was back to the HR that I am done with the introduction. Just when I thought that the nightmare has ended, she randomly pointed at a guy and asked me his name, yea, I was clueless and wanted to drown myself somewhere.

So that’s that. From that introverted+embarassed first day to this chirpy day where I come and greet everyone with a wide smile. Collegedunia does that you! That was my two years and counting!

Exploring my artistic side here

--

--