A Letter to Gojek’s Potterheads

Alvita Chen
Life at Gojek
Published in
2 min readNov 20, 2019

A probably-useful letter to Potterheads at Gojek (or those browsing Gojek’s career page).

Almost 2 years have passed since I first stepped into Gojek Headquarter. Joining Corporate Affairs — a division so new that it wasn’t even registered yet in the recruitment drop-down list #truestory — definitely got me feeling like a Muggle-born entering the magnificent Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry.

I was immediately certain that this is home. This would be the place where I get to be who I am. To unlock diverse skills, solve difficult problems, and recruit. I could learn from and befriend colleagues with shared passion for technology and development. Yet at the same time, it felt so foreign and, no kidding, so intimidating. Would I be able to perform? Would I be able to drive collaboration? Would I be able to lead? Would my team grow? Gee, would I even solve the right problems?

I’ve come to realize that vivacity and apprehension are the two forces that are inherent to my every step with Gojek. There were days when I couldn’t sleep, waiting for office hours to start so that problem-solving sessions could be concluded and the checklist of next steps got well-formed. There were also days when I didn’t want to get out of bed because it seemed like I was slipping into obnoxious rabbit holes of recurring business puzzles.

I’ve also learned that the two forces are complicated together, yet they behoove gratitude. Enticed only by apprehension ensures unproductive self-critics. Conversely, try standing decisively by vivacity only, and along comes misplaced contentment. The openness to embrace both is something that I really struggled with, but I’m glad to say that I have come to the conclusion that they are useful together.

Together, the forces drive steady incremental improvements for my personal growth and keep me passionate in nurturing the team’s contribution to the bigger picture. Embracing both is akin to training the swish and flick to be able to perform Wingardium Leviosa correctly. It allows knowing when to offer help or ask for one. When to lead or to follow, when to direct or delegate. When to mentor or learn, when to strike ahead or pivot. Also, knowing that it is OK to fail often and get up quickly.

Experiencing all that and more is made possible by Gojek’s supportive environment. And for that, I am thankful. How about you?

P.S. I’d love to see Quidditch-themed career analogies, so hit me up if you got one.

P.P.S. The views, thoughts, and opinions expressed here belong solely to the author, and not necessarily to the author’s employer, organization, committee or other group or individual.

--

--