Niltal Muna, Developing Mekari’s Growth in the City of Heroes

Niltal ‘Tatang’ Muna witnessed with his own eyes the rapid growth of Mekari from the start. With his role as Business Development Executive, he has been helping the expansion of Mekari in the city of heroes: Surabaya, East Java.

Ria Khairunnisa
Life at Mekari
3 min readJan 13, 2020

--

Image source: Photo by Marvin Meyer on Unsplash

Developing Mekari’s business expansion in Surabaya

Niltal Muna, or Tatang to his friends, lives in Surabaya, East Java. About 3 years ago, he joined Jurnal (an entity of Mekari) as a Business Development Executive (BD Executive) to help Mekari’s business grow in Surabaya. His first job in Jurnal was very challenging at first. Not only because he came from a non-engineering background, but also because there were only 2 BD Executives at that time to handle the Surabaya area, including him.

“When I first joined Jurnal, there were only two BD Executives in Surabaya. That means my partner and I had to do everything, from acquiring potential clients, giving product demo, helping the on-boarding process and also becoming the tech-support. I was required to be independent and an excellent multitasking person,” Tatang said.

Adapting to a new position, in which he had to multitask many roles, was not easy in the least. In addition, he also had to be the expert of the product, which was quite challenging if you come from a non-engineering background.

“In order to acquire new clients, having deep knowledge of the product is a must. Jurnal is accounting software, so having familiarity with accounting or technology would be beneficial. Since I have a bachelor’s degree in Islamic Finance, which has little to do with accounting, I needed to learn everything from zero by myself. Thankfully, the commercial team in Jakarta is always ready to help and support me. They helped me in easing my worries since I know they will always have my back,” Tatang explained.

Witnessing the massive growth of Mekari in Surabaya

When he was asked about memorable moments while working in Mekari, he answered that having an office building in Surabaya was such a significant moment for him. “When I joined Jurnal, we didn’t have an office in Surabaya. At that time, when I wanted to set up meetings with clients or partners, we could only meet at coffee shops or I came to their offices,” Tatang explained.

In November 2019, Mekari officially opened a branch office in Surabaya. For Tatang, it was the evidence of Mekari’s rapid growth. “To witness from having no office at all until having an office building of our own was such a memorable moment. Now, we also have more employees in Surabaya. It makes me proud to be a part of Mekari. I’m excited to contribute more to Mekari’s growth in Surabaya.”

Niltal ‘Tatang’ Muna, Mekari’s Surabaya-based Business Development Executive.

“Helping Mekari’s national expansion in other areas in East Java is my next mission”

As the business grows more and more, Tatang plans to help more SMEs in other areas as well. “I want to help the expansion of Mekari in other areas of East Java, such as Malang. That way, Mekari can collaborate with more SMEs and be the solution for SMEs in managing their business effectively and efficiently,” Tatang said about his next plan.

--

--

Ria Khairunnisa
Life at Mekari

Putting unspoken thoughts into words. A mental health advocate.