KeepTruckin engineering spotlight series featuring Natasha Javed

Jamal Qazi
Life at Motive
Published in
3 min readDec 17, 2021

Hi Natasha, let's begin with why software engineering?

In school, I developed my first program on my own. I thoroughly enjoyed the logic building and developed an instant liking for programming. Though as I dived deeper into programming, I realized it’s a lot more than just coding, It’s a means for changing the world and making lives easier. The idea of doing what I like and being part of something bigger than myself has made me choose this incredible field.

What does your role as a software engineer look like at KeepTruckin?

I belong to the frontend team and we work on the Fleet Manager Dashboard application. My team works on the Asset Gateway part of the dashboard. We collaborate with Product, Design, Backend, and QA teams to complete any new features. Our work is essentially what our customers see and interact with. Our goal is to bring life to the ideas presented by Product, realize the designs provided by the Design team, integrate Backend services, and include QA team's feedback. This all leads us to provide customers with features that meet their needs and provide them with the best user experience.

Why did you decide on KeepTruckin?

I had heard about KeepTruckin, and during my interview process, I got a better sense of the culture. It was a very smooth process, and interviewers seemed like people who would love to share knowledge and gain it from others. I chose KeepTruckin for its great culture and opportunities for growth.

What was the first lesson you learned being on the Engineering team, and how has that shaped you and your work since?

To take things easy. We have a very decent time to fulfill our roles and responsibilities, so I take my time and enjoy my work. Hence, that leads to more productivity and better quality work.

How is every day different on the KeepTruckin Engineering team for you?

Every day at KeepTruckin is different because we are always working on something new. New features are being added to the Asset Gateway part of Dashboard and we work towards realizing them. I always get to learn with every new feature and by working with my amazing team members. Along with this, I get to listen to my colleagues and team members unique ideas, which inspire me to be creative and do better

What advice would you give to all women who are interested in or about to start their career in engineering in Pakistan?

I would suggest to everyone to make their own journey. Sure there are some benchmarks set, but how you get there and shape your journey is on you. Set your goals, set your priorities, and work around them. The only golden rule for me is “Work your best — always” Now, your best would vary depending on your abilities and circumstances, so do your best and try to be better than yourself. That’s the real progress.

For women specifically, I understand the challenges we face, but we are the change we want to see, and by our growth and determination, we can show that women are as capable as anyone. Keep trying, keep growing. More power to us!

Want to know more about Natasha? Watch the video below:

Interested in working with people like Natasha? We’re hiring!

--

--