People of Motive: Alexanderia Parish, Customer Success Manager

Jamal Qazi
Life at Motive
Published in
4 min readFeb 27, 2023

Our Customer Success Manager Alexanderia Parish has a true passion when it comes to diversity, equity and inclusion. She is also the Co-Chair of our Melanin at Motive employee resource group (ERG). Keep scrolling to learn more about Alexanderia and what it’s like to work with her.

What motivated you to join Motive?

After nine amazing years at my former employer, I was on a mission to find a work environment that supported career advancement by challenging me to grow. During the interview process, I was able to see first-hand just how dedicated leadership is to developing future leaders within the organization. That level of reassurance encouraged me to join Motive and I’ve been growing professionally ever since.

What’s your role and where do you “sit” (city and state)?

I currently sit in Nashville, Tennessee and I’m a manager for Mid-Market Customer Success-leading a team of six amazing CSM’s. My team and I are dedicated to ensuring Motive customers understand and use our innovative fleet management platform while supporting the accounts entire life-cycle, after onboarding. Our goal is to ensure each Motive customer receives the value they expect and foster a trusting partnership that’s long-lasting.

What’s a recent project/work you’re most proud of at Motive?

I have a true passion for diversity, equity and inclusion and co-lead Motive’s Melanin ERG. Recently, I had the honor and privilege to help plan a month-long celebration of Black voices here at Motive and beyond during Black History Month. I’m incredibly proud of the work my co-leader and I have accomplished so far and continue to push for a culture of diversity, equity and inclusion at Motive.

What is your favorite perk about working remotely?

My favorite perk about working remotely is having the ability to avoid the awful Nashville traffic when I can. However, I love interacting with people, so I often visit our Nashville office space.

Favorite part about your job and why?

My favorite part of my job is working with an outstanding group of people. Having the ability to partner with such a diverse group of minds is incredibly rewarding and motivating.

Describe yourself in three words

Committed, intuitive and rigorous.

What’s a (1) professional goal and (2) personal goal you have this year?

A professional goal of mine is to become a Director of Customer Success within the next 3–5 years. At Motive, we have transparent career paths in which we provide clear, consistent definitions of job levels and requirements for promotions. In order to track team members’ individual growth, we have The Goal Tracker tool to help employees and managers stay aligned on performance expectations and development goals.

My personal goal is to send my daughter off to an amazing art school of her dreams. We can’t wait to hear about where she lands!

What is something people may not know about you??

My cousin is Robert “The Chief” Parish who played in the NBA.

Fun Fact: Robert Lee Parish is an American former professional basketball player who played 21 seasons as a center in the National Basketball Association (NBA), tied for second most in league history. He played an NBA-record 1,611 games in his career. Parish was known for his strong defense, high arching jump shots and clutch rebounding late in games.

Best advice you have been given?

“People will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.” — Maya Angelou

“Do what you don’t want to do now, so you can do what you want to do later”. — My dad

Today, our team is made up of more than 3,000 amazing employees like Alexanderia, located all across the world. Interested in working with team members like Alexanderia? Visit our careers site to learn more about our open roles at Motive.

--

--