Remarkable Women @ KT | Sheema Shayesteh

Motive
Life at Motive
Published in
2 min readMar 4, 2021

Ever wondered who the brains were behind our KeepTruckin Engineering blog? It’s Sheema Shayesteh — Sr. Executive Assistant, Project Manager, and blog wrangler extraordinaire! Sheema’s attention to detail, willingness to jump in and help on any project and overall cheery attitude make her one of our favorite people at KeepTruckin. Read on to learn more about Sheema!

Sheema, can you tell us a little about your role at KeepTruckin?

Sure! My name is Sheema Shayesteh. My title is Senior Executive Assistant and Project Manager. I support and partner with our CEO and our SVP of Engineering. Since joining KeepTruckin a little over a year and a half ago, I’ve focused on projects to celebrate and promote our engineering team, including two internal hackathons. Most recently, I am focused on elevating our engineering blog on Medium to propel our brand and vision.

What is a quote that you live by or your favorite affirmation?

“We may encounter many defeats, but we must not be defeated.” — Maya Angelou

What is your dream for future generations of women?

I hope that future generations of women are fearless in their pursuits, and nurture environments that kindle courage and confidence. We should remember the greats whose shoulders we stand on and strive towards eliminating bias.

How will you help work towards a gender-equal world?

Through empowerment and education. I hope to lead by example; those who are lucky enough to have a mentor can attest to its immense impact. By striving to embody the qualities of my own role models, I hope I can inspire others to similarly strive to lead and be great, in a gender-equal world.

What’s one piece of advice that you’d share with a woman who is new in their career?

Constantly seek knowledge. Practice transparency. Don’t be afraid to ask questions!

If you were an owner/operator of a transportation company, what would you want to transport?

I would most likely transport goods for disaster or emergency relief, or, organs and tissue for medical intent. Taking it a step further, if there was a swifter and safer transport process we could execute, imagine how many lives could be touched.

What are you most proud of at KT?

Since I joined KeepTruckin in 2019, the engineering team has expanded in numbers and achievements. I am proud to have contributed to the planning of our first and second ever tech hackathons at KT. I am looking forward to executing the third event this year that will further showcase our team’s synergy, creativity, and innovation.

At KeepTruckin, there is constant opportunity to learn, to take initiative, and to challenge boundaries. I am proud to be part of an inclusive family that encourages such growth.

Want to work with the remarkable women at KT? We are hiring! Check out our careers page

--

--