Women In Sales: Lindsay Creason

Muhammad Iqbal
Life at Motive
Published in
3 min readSep 27, 2023
An image of Lindsay Creason, Mid Market Account Executive at Motive
Lindsay on her sales superpower

A sales pro passionate about technology, Lindsay Creason shares her journey from working in different industries to becoming a valuable member of Motive. With over a decade of experience, Lindsay’s dedication has propelled her to thrive in a male-dominated field. She excels in her role and mentors others, providing guidance and inspiration for fellow women in the sales industry. Dive in to learn more about Lindsay’s sales journey.

What motivated you to join Motive and what’s your favorite part of the company culture?

I have accumulated almost ten years of experience in technology sales. I was seeking a fresh opportunity in a different field and on a larger stage. The culture I encountered during the interview left a strong impression on me. Despite the company’s size, it was evident that they valued each person as an individual and put humanity first and foremost.

How did you get your start in sales?

I started my career in the financial sector, initially as a bank teller tasked with meeting referral goals. Over time, I progressed through the ranks, taking on roles such as loan officer and underwriter. Eventually, I assumed the position of a manager, where I guided and influenced the professional paths of my team members. Transitioning into fintech, I expanded my knowledge significantly, delving deeper into sales processes and gaining exposure to various techniques and strategies.

What is your personal sales superpower?

In my nature, I’ve consistently embodied the qualities of a problem-solver, complemented by a strong sense of compassion and empathy. I recognize the importance of addressing issues promptly and providing comfort. As Vanilla Ice aptly said, “If there’s a problem, yo, I’ll solve it!” This inherent characteristic has been a critical factor in my accomplishments within consultative sales, enabling me to succeed significantly.

What are some barriers women face in sales and how have you been able to overcome these?

I’ve faced various challenges from internal and external sources throughout my career. I’ve personally experienced unequal compensation and an uneven distribution of workload. Like anyone else, there have been moments when my confidence wavered in sales situations. During such times, my leadership team’s support has been invaluable in boosting my morale. However, I’ve also sensed that these instances have impacted how clients perceive me.

How has mentorship played a role in your sales career?

Experienced mentors’ guidance and wisdom have given me valuable insights, strategies, and perspectives that I might not have encountered otherwise. I’ve learned from the successes and challenges of others, gaining a deeper understanding of the nuances of the sales landscape.

Mentors have helped me navigate complex sales situations, provided advice on building strong client relationships, and shared their knowledge about effective negotiation tactics. Their feedback and constructive criticism have pushed me to refine my skills and approach, leading to continuous growth and improvement.

Furthermore, mentorship has been a source of motivation and encouragement during times of self-doubt. The reassurance and belief that someone with more experience has in my abilities have bolstered my confidence and enabled me to persevere through challenging moments.

What piece of advice would you share with someone starting their career in sales?

Prioritize the development of strong relationships. While product knowledge and sales techniques are essential, building genuine connections with clients and colleagues will set you apart.

Listening actively and understanding your client’s needs and challenges will enable you to provide tailored solutions that resonate. Equally important is fostering relationships within your organization. Collaborating with teammates, learning from experienced colleagues, and seeking mentorship can significantly accelerate your growth.

Remember, sales is about building trust and adding value. By building meaningful relationships, you’ll enhance your sales performance and establish a reputation as someone who genuinely cares about the success of their clients and colleagues.

Are you looking to take the next step in your sales career? See our open roles here.

--

--