Women in Sales: Meet Nicole Rich

Muhammad Iqbal
Life at Motive
Published in
2 min readDec 21, 2023

We are excited to introduce you to Nicole Rich, Manager of New Business Sales at Motive. Dive in to hear about Nicole’s sales career, her career path at Motive, and her advice to aspiring sales professionals.

What motivated you to join Motive? And what’s your favorite part of the sales team culture?

A friend of mine referred me to Motive in February 2022. She explained that the company had a “work hard, play hard” culture. I came into the office for my interview and was blown away by how fast-paced the job was and the energy in the room.

My favorite part of Motive’s culture is how everyone supports each other. Team members Slack in group channels about their experiences, and people are willing to jump in and help others.

How did you get your start in sales?

I got my sales experience working for a startup building e-commerce websites for individuals and businesses. I would make up to seventy calls daily, trying to negotiate deals to drive revenue.

What is your personal sales superpower?

My superpower is social awareness and knowing when to politely engage in objections versus giving the prospect space. I also match the tone and demeanor of my prospects, allowing them to relate to me.

How has mentorship played a role in your sales career?

I have had excellent mentors to help walk me through my career. Learning how to have tough conversations and deliver constructive feedback are two essential skills that my mentors have taught me.

What’s one piece of advice you’d share with someone starting their career in sales?

I believe sales is a numbers game; however, researching before cold-calling, writing a talk track, and understanding your prospects’ work is crucial for successful sales. Listening to your calls and peers can also help you improve.

If you would like to supercharge your sales career at Motive, check out our open roles here.

--

--