Paperless Post’s Infrastructure as Code Journey at Automacon.io

Paperless Post
Life at Paperless Post
1 min readNov 7, 2016

A few weeks ago I had the pleasure of attending and presenting at Automacon, the Infrastructure as Code Conference in Portland, Oregon. The conference itself was an incredible experience: well-curated, well-run, well-catered, and well-cultured. I found inspiration in the presentations, the many meaningful conversations I had with the other attendees, and especially the after hours friends-and-family tour of the Portland Art Museum.

The topic of my talk was Paperless Post’s infrastructure-as-code history, starting from when we were a humble startup with no operations team. In my talk I examine the tools we used, the hardships we overcame, and the lessons we learned along the way. Check out the video here to learn a bit about how we went from having a few servers held together with hopes and dreams to our present day orchestration with Terraform, Docker, Chef, Amazon Web Services, and custom-built tools.

--

--