A Milestone in My Early Career Journey

How interning at Pegipegi became my best intern experience

Alvia Yaranita
Pegipegi
7 min readFeb 25, 2020

--

The Beginning

Have you ever felt like everything in your life is going very smoothly?

I know it sounds unbelievable, and maybe you’re already rolling your eyes reading it. What a delusional person, you might have thought. But that is exactly what I experienced these last four months starting from when I applied for my internship in early November. As a fresh graduate, I was like any other early 20s young adult who are currently trying to figure out their life — full of uncertainty. What I know is that I have passion for writing and creating content, but I never knew where those things were going to lead me.

A month before my graduation in late November 2019, I was looking through LinkedIn and came across a copywriter intern vacancy at Pegipegi. Oh what a coincidence I thought, as I had grown interested in working at a startup online travel agency. Without thinking too much, I applied for the job and in about two weeks an interview invitation came in. I felt a rush of confidence after seeing that email thinking that I’m going to nail this interview by giving my best.

Guess what? I nailed that interview. It wasn’t perfect or anything, I had my ‘what am I even saying?’ moment silently repeating in my mind when the interviewers asked me to describe myself in three words, because then my mind went completely blank. Somehow, I was able to answer whatever came across my mind that day. But as I was processing my answers, I silently kept questioning myself why I even said those words.

However, my enthusiasm was really high and I was being very cheerful. So, I put aside my worry and just went along with it, after all my intuition was pretty good that day. I felt confident and deep down I could feel that I’m going to be accepted. Oh well, what a luck because a few days later I got accepted. This was just the beginning of my lucky moment of interning at Pegipegi.

Why do I say lucky? Because nothing was certain in my life, I was worried about the future (typical girl who is just graduated from college) yet I love every experience I’ve got and am grateful for the opportunity that broadens my knowledge in a lot of aspects in my life. It was like the world telling me to stop being worried and just let things flow.

I don’t think I ever experienced a major bad thing for the past three months of my internship, nor do I remember any small bad experiences too. Therefore, let me tell you what I love from interning at Pegipegi, so that you know why I could say that things in my life are going very smoothly these past months.

What I Love From Interning at Pegipegi

1. The Work

I always accept any kind of task that is related to my field of work, because I feel the need to get experiences as much as I can. Even when I have known what to do for some parts, I always think that there are still other things to learn. So imagine how happy I was when as an intern my work varies. They are still related to copywriting of course, but I am able to learn more about product copywriting and put use of my knowledge of creative content writing to the practice.

I am included as part of the Creative team, generating ideas for upcoming projects under the flexibility to expand my creativity to the work. At the same time, as my role is under the Marketing Department, I am able to gain knowledge of how the team works together as well as growing together. Everyone is trusted to do their work and expected to bring achievement for the company. So, yes interns do matter here.

Pegipegi Promotion Landing Page
Push Notification Promotion Copy

If you are wondering what projects I was able to contribute aside for writing the promotion landing page, then let me tell you. I was a part of the team who created Jurnal Pegipegi 2019 (Pegipegi Transaction History Project) as well as Pegipegi Billboard Project. Discussing ideas on what to write and how to present them to consumers. The outcomes were more than I expected. Several national media outlets covering stories about Jurnal Pegipegi 2019 and the Billboard Project became viral in social media.

Jurnal Pegipegi 2019
Viral Tweet from @bdgfess
Viral Post from @jakarta.keras

2. The Trust

Since the first day of my internship, I don’t feel like I’m being treated as an intern. Everyone here respected me as much as if I am a full time employee. Even when I am only an intern, I have my own working mail (myname@pegipegi.com), hehe. Okay…it may not be the only company who gives interns their own working mail, but I can say that giving this to interns like me, makes me feel welcome already.

That aside, I have been included in every — projects whether it’s a small or a big one. I have been expected to give my best potential and work just like any other full timer. If you think this is bad, I will say it’s the opposite. They’re giving me the trust not as an intern, but as an individual who specializes in her field which makes me feel so appreciated. They ask my opinions for related projects and being welcome to any questions if there is something I don’t get. It pushes my mental and skill boundaries to keep growing professionally and pushes me to give my best to the work and the team.

Discussing Team Project

3. The Friends

In order for me to enjoy my day to day life, it requires more than liking the job but also the environment. Lucky for me I found both while interning at Pegipegi. I am grateful to the people, especially the ones in my department who have been welcoming me since the first day I got in. Of course there were my efforts to fit in and getting to know them as well, a little awkward moment here and there but their welcoming attitude makes everything seem easier for me. It is easy for me to make friends here, not only acquaintances.

The friendship I’ve got here balances me. There were days when I got excited to go to work just to meet my friends. Yes I know…it sounds like college life all over again. But then, that’s what makes it fun and exciting right. I find myself thriving both mentally and skillfully in three months because I find a supportive work environment.

Bonus Experience

Apparently back in December, the first month of my internship, I just knew that Pegipegi was sponsoring the ‘Imperfect’ movie by Ernest Perkasa, one of the most known stand up comedians and movie directors in Indonesia. We got several invitations to the movie Premiere that I originally didn’t get.

But somehow, that day my friend had one invitation left and he gave it to me. So I was able to watch the ‘Imperfect’ movie Premiere and saw Reza Rahadian real close up in front of me 😜. Sadly I didn’t take any picture of that night but it was sure a fun experience for me, especially when I didn’t expect it to happen.

Three months have passed by so fast because I enjoy each and every moment of it. This may not be my first internship, however I can say this is the best one I have so far. While my internship comes to an end, I have no regret leaving because I have been giving my best and have gained so much in three months than I can ever hope for. I surely will miss my team and friends here, but as an early 20s young adult my journey is just starting.

Pegipegi Young Explorer

Pegipegi Young Explorer is an internship program at Pegipegi which aim to develop and groom young talent to excel in their chosen career path. Join us to make traveling more accessible for all Indonesians. Find your journey on Pegipegi’s Career Page and let’s #GrowTogether.

--

--