Internship at Pegipegi: Improve My Learning Curve and Achieve More

Sheren Valentia
Pegipegi
Published in
5 min readAug 31, 2022

Hi, before I tell you my story, I would like to introduce myself first, okay? I am Sheren Valentia, a strategic communication student at Multimedia Nusantara University (UMN).

One day, I was looking for an internship in one of the platform provider job vacancies. I have applied for various internship vacancies in many companies.

However…

God led me to Pegipegi.

Not accepted in some workplaces, but given the trust to work in Pegipegi? At that time, I saw an interesting opportunity. Pegipegi was looking for a Corporate Communication Intern. The responsibilities look in line with what I learned during college. Finally, I immediately applied for the vacancy.

Luckily, I was accepted at Pegipegi as a Corporate Communication Intern. Because I never thought I would join one of Indonesia’s leading online travel agent (OTA) companies. Corporate communication is one of my dream jobs. Being a part of public relations company is a pride for me.

Pegipegi applies the FWA (Flexible Working Arrangement) work system, which is mean I am not required to work from the office. I work from my home located in Palembang, South Sumatra.

On my first day, I was scared and worried because I felt inexperienced, and would not be welcomed by the team. I am also nervous about getting to know and working with colleagues that have more experience. I have no idea how to work in the corporate communications division.

However, after attending a meeting with the team and explaining all the responsibilities that I had to do, I felt very welcomed by the Corporate Communication team. I met Busyra Oryza, Sr. Corporate Communications Manager and Devi Agustina, Associate Public Relations Manager, my mentors. Both are so kind and willing to guide me patiently. They taught me from the ground up, from being an ordinary and inexperienced student to a student with real-world experience in corporate communication.

During my eight-month internship, I had a lot of ups and downs. I was afraid that my abilities would not match what they expected. Surprisingly, what I learned in college was very helpful for me in my daily work. Therefore, I was able to survive and get through this internship period.

On the other hand, the Corporate Communication Pegipegi team has always embraced and supported me. The team trusted me to do some tasks such as producing and executing ideas to create stories, press releases, developing employer branding, coordinating internal events, designing talking points and spokespersons briefings, etc. I was also given the trust to carry out tasks full of challenges and critical thinking, such as being a content creator, where I had to create interactive and creative content to increase engagement.

This whole experience is such an honor for me personally. Do you want to know why?

Improving Writing & Communication Skills

My writing skill improved during my time as an intern. Writing stories is something I enjoy. But the challenge was I also had to write a press release which meant it would be distributed to the media. It made me feel very nervous.

Thanks to the guidance from the team, I became confident to write more. And now, writing is one of my favorite daily activities.

In addition, as a Corporate Communication Intern, you must have good communication skills. My mentors taught me how to communicate with both internal and external Pegipegi in a polite and structured manner.

I was also assigned as a host for the Pegipegi Talk live event on Instagram. So, my communication skills were well-developed during this internship. Besides, another skill that is increasing is negotiation skills because I have to negotiate with a Youtuber for a community project.

Having a Supportive Mentor

Pegipegi has a healthy work culture where we support each other. We are not trying to let one of us down. As an intern, I did not escape from mistakes. When that happened, my mentors taught and advised me to become a better person. It is an honor for me to meet a colleague who can make me rise from my mistakes. From this internship, learned a lot from my mentor and about life outside of work-life. My mentor always provides input for my future career.

Exposed to High-Level Executives

I feel not isolated or discriminated against as an intern. The team trusted me to jump right into the field. I had many good opportunities that I might not get anywhere else, such as end-to-end meetings with the CEO and Vice President of Pegipegi. I also often make presentations in front of the leader. I`m so proud to be able to speak in front of Pegipegi leaders.

Now, eight months have passed…

Time flies so fast. Even though I am far from the team physically, our hearts feel close to each other. Long distance relationships did not dampen my enthusiasm to work with all my heart.

I grew and developed with Pegipegi. This is in line with Pegipegi tagline, Let’s #Grow Together.

The benefits that I got during my internship at Pegipegi were working remotely, direct mentoring with industry experts, pocket money, and working tools.

Thank you for the trust given to me. It is an honor for me to be a part of Pegipegi. I hope Pegipegi will be more successful in the future.

--

--