Harmony in Hustle: Navigating Motherhood in the 9-to-5 World

Jessica Bowe
Life at Propeller
Published in
3 min readSep 18, 2023

Every day I step into the workplace bearing the same tasks, pressures, and hurdles that I experienced before becoming a mother in 2021. My colleagues and customers see the same hardworking Jessica who takes pride in helping to grow the business. But in reality, motherhood has reshaped my professional life in profound ways.

There’s a certain tax that new moms and dads pay when they become parents. It comes in the form of reduced sleep, juggled schedules, lighter wallets, less self-care, and more rational and irrational stress. Conversely, there’s also a set of rewards in the form of immense love for your little one, increased empathy, improved patience, and indescribable happiness.

Adapting at work as a new parent means balancing the daily taxes while leveraging the rewards toward positive outcomes.

Callan at 3-weeks

Navigating the dual roles of a dedicated professional and a new mother has been quite a journey. The initial year was particularly tough, especially last winter when there was a surge in respiratory illnesses among children. Our son faced repeated health challenges and was even required to be on oxygen for 3-weeks. Naturally, he couldn’t attend daycare during this period, yet my partner and I had work obligations. Balancing the needs of our sick toddler with professional demands made that winter seem endless. During this time I also began to travel for work quite a bit. The profound sense of guilt I experienced, coupled with my commitment to maintain professionalism and stay engaged throughout my trips, posed a significant challenge for me to navigate

We made it out of the tough winter with a healthy toddler and several more gray hairs.

Las Vegas 2022 for a work confernece

As winter again approaches, bringing along with it the flu season, I hold onto a cautious optimism, hoping this year will be kinder to our family. However, I’ve come to understand that there are some things beyond my control — a realization that isn’t easy for someone who likes to have everything in order. This aspect of parenthood has tested my patience and resilience.

I’m grateful to be surrounded by colleagues who have shown me immense support since I became a mother. At Propeller, I’ve discovered a wonderful community of parents who understand and share my daily challenges. This network of support has been invaluable to me.

Becoming a parent has been an introspective journey that has presented its fair share of ups and downs. Despite the challenging moments, the happiness I feel from having a thriving son and a rewarding job keeps me centered and appreciative.

Even on the hardest days, I take a moment to remember that I’m shaping the future man my son will grow into.

--

--