Siftie Spotlight: Arias Davis, Sales Engineer

Sift
Life at Sift
Published in
3 min readNov 8, 2019

Sales Engineer Arias Davis has been with Sift for six months. If he could eat just one food for the rest of his life, it would be sushi. It’s delicious, healthy, and there’s a wide variety of sushi to choose from.

Where is your favorite place to be?

It’d have to be Tokyo. Love the vibes there, the city’s super vibrant, so many different things to do. I can live a healthier lifestyle while partying even harder than I do here in California and having a blast. I’ve been there twice and want to go back when it’s cold. My favorite thing about Tokyo is that it’s a combination of super modern but with a respect for its history, and it’s very clean. It’s energetic, with a lot of life, but at the same time very relaxed and down to earth.

What are three interesting facts about you?

  • I love cruising in my 2015 Mustang
  • I’m a huge nerd
  • I love colognes and perfumes

If you could pick up a certain skill instantly, what would it be?

To read people’s minds. I like to get to know more about someone’s real self, and a lot of the time people say things or do things because of something they don’t want to disclose. But if I was able to read their mind, I’d be able to assess who they really are, to finally understand where they’re coming from.

As you get older, what are you getting more and more afraid of?

Being stuck in a city where my core values aren’t met, and not meeting my significant other. People in major cities tend to share the same core values and influence others. I feel that influence can easily distort a person’s true self, and that the longer they stay in a place the more their values become distorted. They lose sight of themselves, what they really want, and in some cases this prevents a person from finding someone who shares what they believe in.

What was your first job?

I was an usher at Cinemark. I was 17 and did that for a year.

What small gesture from a stranger made a big impact on you?

When I was little, I was fascinated by cool rocks. I was looking at a pretty piece of Fool’s Gold, and at the time my parents were strapped for cash. A random dude comes up and says, “I’ll buy you this rock, but you have to promise me that you’ll try hard at what you do and be successful.” I feel like people lose sight of being good to one another, and the fact that this guy went out of his way to buy a stranger’s kid this rock that he wanted made me want to give back to people, too.

What songs hit you with a wave of nostalgia every time you hear them?

Computer Love by Zapp & Roger. Makes me think of the good old days, childhood. The setting of Stranger Things without the scary stuff. Also makes me think about working in tech, how everything runs on computers and people really do have computer love.

Ready to team-up with Arias and make the internet a safer place?

--

--