Every little thing matters

Zomato
Life at Zomato

--

By Ragini Das

This post was originally published on Zomato Blog on April 18, 2019.

Someone at work last week asked me what my best day at Zomato has been.

Having had the chance to work with some brilliant teams and mentors during my time here, I couldn’t easily pinpoint the one day that maybe changed my life or my love for Zomato. Zomato is home and has always been.

I’ve been with Zomato for five and a half years now, and something that has really strengthened over time is our culture. Being a Zoman is all about going that extra mile. And the work we do to enhance the experience our users and restaurants have with us is not only central to our mission, but also in our DNA.

I’ve done sales for the most part of my stint here, and I’d be lying to myself if I say it wasn’t the best part of it. From pitching to upstart delivery kitchens, to leading teams across geographies/ products, sales at Zomato will teach you EVERYTHING you need to know about life.

If you ask me to force rank between all the great days I had at Zomato, this one instance from September 2017 comes to my mind — the launch of a product I’d been working on for months was getting delayed, things were probably not moving the way I wanted them to, simply put, it was a typical ‘what am I even doing!?’ kind of day. Until I got added to this email trail —

It was a simple appreciation email from an old client and little does she know the effect it had on me. It was the dose of motivation I was looking for. It’s been almost two years but if I’m ever having ‘not such a great day’, I always come back and read this email. Knowing that every little thing you do matters, and is appreciated, makes all the difference.

Oh and that product eventually launched two months later! We call it Zomato Gold today 🙂

I started out wanting to share this anecdote on LinkedIn, but after an email exchange with Deepi (below), I’m sharing this on the official blog now. My exchange with him only further strengthened my love for Zomato. No matter what part of Zomato you work with, and who you reach out to, you’re always given the opportunity to voice your thoughts. And for that, I’m forever grateful.

--

--