How I Earned My First Dollar With Medium.

My story how I earned my first dollar writing articles on medium.

John Philip
Life Cafe
2 min readMay 15, 2021

--

Photo by Jp Valery on Unsplash

Medium is an excellent platform for publishing your content freely. It is even unique that you can earn some cash in reward while doing what you love, writing and publishing content.

I joined medium earlier in 2019, but then I didn’t know how to go about things. During this time, I didn’t see the essence of publishing content, so I was very reluctant and could only come to medium to read other people’s stories.

Later on, I actively started publishing content on medium; maybe after some months, I would post an article or two. Later in the last year, I have been actively publishing content and some on my blog.

What continued to amaze me was that some people were benefiting from my articles, and they were learning a thing or two. This even motivated me further, and I started pushing more content from the last year.

Later on, I joined the medium partner program and decided to pass through some of my articles through a paywall. During the start, my pays were generally lower, and I didn’t earn much during the first month. Later on, when I continued pushing more and more articles, the income started to rise compared to the other months.

During the way, I have learned a few things that anyone can take time and enjoy. When I started also, I had a few followers, and now I have earned some follows through the process.

Lessons I have learned along the way

1. Interact with articles through claps and comments

Interacting with people’s articles will shine some light on the author. Similarly, it may motivate the person to continue producing such articles as everyone is aware that his/her articles are helping people out. Interacting with other people’s articles is an excellent way to know other people and make some writer friends.

2. Give shoutouts

Usually, when an article has interested you, you can comment something positive to the author. Giving a shoutout is a good way of appreciation. There isn’t anything better than knowing your article is solving other people’s problems and helping others out.

3. Share articles you think will be helpful to others.

Often, you find some articles that you feel exciting and you feel other people can benefit from. Sharing other people’s work will only help other people out. Writers and readers should fancy sharing out fantastic work done by other people.

Thank you for reading through this article.

If you found it helpful, please don’t hesitate to leave a comment and share it out.

More reading:

--

--