Waiting…

Evan Agee
Life Devotions
Published in
2 min readJul 30, 2014

--

Learning to become an expert in my weakness

I don’t like to wait. In fact one of my biggest struggles has been learning to look at each day as something other than a milestone on the way to my destiny. I’ve never been too good at taking each day as it comes and making the most out of it, I’ve always been more focused on reaching the destination. It has gotten me into a lot of trouble recently as I tend to overlook the everyday opportunities if they don’t look enough like the end-goal I have in mind. But, it looks like God might be working on me a bit right now.

My wife Crys and I moved out of our house on June 1st of 2014. We knew our next house wouldn’t be available for about a month so we decided to take advantage of our homelessness to travel a bit and visit some family that we don’t get to see much. It was a wonderful time, but we arrived back home at the end of June and our house still isn’t ready for us, and it’s looking like it won’t be ready for a couple more months.

We prayed early on wether we should find somewhere else to move and just heard “wait”. We both felt strongly that the house we’re waiting on is OUR house and that we shouldn’t settle for something else. So, we’re waiting.

I don’t want to give the impression that this season is all negative, that couldn’t be further from the truth. We’ve paid off almost every single cent of debt that we had excluding our car and we’ve been praying for that miracle for some time. We’re feeling more financially free than we’ve ever experienced! We’re also getting to spend some great quality time with my mom and step-dad, something I’ve really been wanting since we moved back to Indiana.

We’re not just waiting on a house, we’re also waiting on a ministry. We have a vision for something we want to start but again we hear “wait”. God knows what’s best and I know without a doubt that what I need right now is some time. Time to digest the events of the last year, time to learn to trust my ability to hear His voice, time to rest. So wait I will.

--

--

Evan Agee
Life Devotions

I’m a front-end web consultant currently obsessed with Vuejs.