Days and nights

Little Miss Mirthril
Life experiences
Published in
3 min readFeb 7, 2014

--

Some days, I like mornings.

Waking up, cocooned in the warmth of my own body, slowly blinking myself awake, stretching the sleep out of my limbs…

Greeting the new day, looking forward to what it has to offer. I have a new page in the book of my life, lying clean and new and crisp, waiting for me to set the pen down and start writing.

It’s a good feeling.

Some days, I like nights.

Snuggling down beneath the covers, to-do lists discarded, nothing but the peaceful embrace of sleep taking over as consciousness drifts away.

Some days everything comes up roses. I wake up fresh, the day’s tasks go by smoothly, and everything winds down silkily to a restful evening and a good night’s sleep.

Other days, the start is sluggish, and everything I try to take in my hand comes up by the rough handle.

Mostly it’s a mix. But whatever kind of day I get, I get one day at a time. Once it’s gone, it’s gone forever. It’s up to me to make sure I make my days worthwhile.

I’d like to share something I found on ihsaanlife.com:

Each day is but a sheet of lined paper

Clean and crisp,

Unruffled by worry,

Not worn, or tired and dirty,

But crisp like the morning,

When it is given to me.

The seconds, minutes and hours,

Are lines upon the sheet of my life,

Waiting for my words,

For my actions,

And my thoughts.

To fill the spaces in between.

I must stay within the margins,

Not scribble on the sides.

Write neatly, carefully, thoughtfully,

Keep in mind the One,

Who will read it all.

It might even be read aloud.

But every day,

Even with the best of intentions,

Though I start,

I mess up my page.

With angry words in bold,

Smudged with tears,

Crumpled and creased.

A few lines of gratitude,

Of zikr and reflection,

Are followed by many paragraphs,

Of ugly complaints.

Regrettable actions, envy and greed

As my pen pauses,

And I look back at my sheet,

I am sad.

My page is all ugly,

There is no way to cross it all out,

And start over again.

How will I turn this in,

At the end of the day,

I couldn’t even keep it clean,

From one sunrise to sunset.

It is hopeless indeed…

Yet somehow the next day

I am given another sheet,

“Try,”

It is said.

“Try again.”

Release yourself from your regret.

Write something so glorious,

Say something so sweet,

Think thoughts so poignant,

Be a role model,

For yourself,

Inspire, be inspired and set yourself free.

The book of your life,

Though written front to back,

Will be read the other way around,

If the thoughts, words and deeds,

In the end are beautiful,

Forgiveness is yours and a full reprieve.

--

--