PhoTO via Gawker

How I forgot about one of the most important days of my life.

And why that’s a good thing.

Dan Fallak
2 min readOct 31, 2013

--

The other day I realized that it was around the same time in the previous year when I quit my job in the government to live the life of an entrepreneur. With my big leap I decided to take a shot at trying to build VersaTile into a company that I could operate as my full time gig. So yes, I quit my government job to sell coasters.

You could have told me it had been only 3 months ago that I left, or 5 years, and I’d have believed you either way. The thing that really struck me was not that a year had passed by, but that I really had no idea when the anniversary of this momentous occasion was. I mean this was a HUGE decision in my life and it affected not only me but my family. Truth is, the only reason I remembered is that I was giving a talk at the speaking engagement earlier this week, and it came up during my introduction. I actually had to use twitter to go back and find this post to verify when the actual date was.

So how could the date pass by and me not notice. Why wasn’t the date circled on a calendar or a reminder placed in my phone?

The answer is simply a matter of time. I didn’t remember because I just didn’t have time to think about it. And this isn’t a humblebrag “look at me, I’m important and too busy” type of statement, it’s just a reality of what’s going on right now. I don’t have the time to focus on what’s coming up because I am completely living, playing, and working in the moment.

As someone who has lived most of my life looking forward to the next thing, I missed out on what was happening right now. I’ve come to learn that what’s happening right now is pretty awesome.

--

--