Hairiin Orchlon, Again with Feeling

Mylio
Life in Focus
Published in
2 min readMar 23, 2016

by Jess Lampe

I lived and worked in Mongolia for five years — two with the Peace Corps, and the rest with a private company. This picture is from my Peace Corps days. I was working in the public health sector; that’s me on the right with my Mongolian counterpart, Dr. Gotov. We’re singing a Mongolian folk song at the Zavkhan Province Health Department New Year’s party.

The best piece of advice I ever got about Mongolia was this: learn a song, then sing it with people any chance you get. The one I learned, and am singing here, was Hairiin Orchlon, a song of longing, about being separated from a loved one.

I sang the hell out of that song. I sang it at office parties, I sang it at karaoke clubs, I sang it on long car rides. I definitely sang it every chance I got, and each time made fast, fast friends.

Jess Lampe, Project Manager

Who knew?

  1. I speak Mongolian.
  2. I lived in a yurt (ger) for two years.
  3. I’m running a marathon in a week.

I like to shoot: The small details in life.

My Mylio setup: Three devices and about 5,000 images.

Jess Lampe, Helpful Nomad

Jess is Mylio’s Helpful Nomad, developing analytics platforms and project managing our account management system to help ensure we are delivering a quality product to our quality customers. He is a world traveler. Follow him on instagram at lampejess.

Originally published at mylio.com on March 23, 2016.

--

--

Mylio
Life in Focus

Photos are the snapshots of our lives. Mylio helps you organize your photos, streamline your workflow, and preserve your life story.