Before you start …

Alejandro Corpeño
Life in Startup
Published in
2 min readOct 7, 2016

What this publication is about and what to expect

Hello everyone! Thanks for dropping by my “Life in Startup” on Medium.

Before you start reading the stories on this publication, let me give you a little bit of context about why I am writing these posts.

I am Alejandro Corpeño (@corp), born and raised in Honduras and accidentally became an entrepreneur in 1997. Since then I have worked on hundreds of software projects for clients and for myself, bringing new ideas to life… all from a country that doesn’t have a great ecosystem for startups (check what the World Bank has to say about Honduras…)

Currently I work at Icoms Technologies (icoms.co), a company we started in 2000 with some friends as the business entity through which we would launch technology products to the world (mostly web and internet related). Over the years Icoms has gone through some mutations and evolution, but it continues to be the bread-and-butter of my professional life.

In 2017 it will be my 20th anniversary as ‘an entrepreneur’… so I thought it’s a good time to finally accept that this is what I doI am an entrepreneur, there is no other way I know how to live.

Half of my life (and all of my adult life) I’ve working on projects and companies that have started out my own initiative or that of a close business partners. Even when I worked as an employee (in 1998–1999) it was more of an intrapreneurial experience, where I was hired specifically for the creation of a new CD-ROM multimedia encyclopedia (yes! the hype of the Multimedia CD-ROMs was also a thing in Honduras… not just producing bananas)

As many of you must already know, there are no definitive rules or a playbook for being an entrepreneur. So, it’s time for me to start writing about these lessons and war-stories (1997–2017) in case these are useful for you and help you jump on to your own startup and entrepreneurial journey.

Note: Over the last seven years I have been writing a little bit on my personal website (corpeno.com), but all of those posts are in spanish. So I’ll be translating those stories and publish then here along with some new content.

--

--

Alejandro Corpeño
Life in Startup

Founder & CEO at Hello Iconic • Entrepreneur • Digital Product Strategist • Software Architect • Startup Advisor