Selected Collections at the Smithsonian National Museum of African Art

Macey Malone
Life In Transit
Published in
3 min readAug 13, 2020

--

African Art at its best

Image: Smithsonian Institute

I’ve a thing for African Art. I don’t even know why I’m so drawn to the rich history of African culture. Well, I think I just answered my question, but that is definitely not the only reason.

Location

Located on the National Mall of Washington DC, the National Museum of African Art houses history of modern and contemporary Africa via art works, sculptures, paintings and special exhibitions. This museum is very special to me because I was able to take my mother here, who is equally interested in history as myself. The museum did a wonderful job in portraying an artistic perception of traditional African art by featuring talks, films and special exhibits that draws thousands of tourists, as well as local people who are interested in learning more about African history.

Collections

One thing that I find fascinating about museums or exhibits dedicated to African art is that the smell of the historical artifacts from the many regions of Africa that bear a presence of the past via a particular scent. Although they are stored mainly in glass boxes, but I think it is extraordinarily amazing to have found the scent of the past that persists throughout the area. Some notable exhibits at this museum…

--

--

Macey Malone
Life In Transit

Traveler. Thinker. Writer — Seeking knowledge in the world of writing