Visiting Old Trafford

Chaiyong Ragkhitwetsagul
Life in UK
Published in
4 min readMay 10, 2015

Last week I visited the “Theatre of Dream”, home of the devil. The sacred palce for Manchester United fans. I have been to Old Trafford for 2 time already. I came here once to watch a match against Fulham in 2012. But I discovered more this time since I got a chance into the museum and stadium tour. We, 7 people including me, traveled there together in a van.

The size of the stadium is intimidating…

The weather was not nice. It was cloudy and chill. Anyway, I didn’t let it ruin my mood. I am looking forward to visiting inside the stadium …

We bought the ticket at 12PM. The ticket is £16 for student (-£2 discount). I was told we had to wait until 3.10 PM to get in (what???).

Ok, got plenty of time for lunch, shopping and museum tour.

Chairs with player names

The lunch menu at the restaurant was pretty nice actually. The chairs were amazing! I picked v. Persie.

Mega store was really mega. Various items to choose and pay. I bought one training jacket for £60. The home kit was really expensive (it’s£55) so I had to ignore it.

I appreciated the museum here. They started from the very old time before the club became Manchester United (it’s called Newton Heath at that time). The stories cover when the players and staffs went to World War I as well. Also the incident of plane crash in Munich was also included. Kits from every single match in the history were kept here.

The climax for me was the 3 trophies from their success in 1999 triple champions!

Ok, time flied. It’s already 3 PM! Let’s get to the stadium tour.

The guide took us to visit different part of the stadium starting from Sir Alex Ferguson stand.

Ahhh… the weather got much better now so I could get a very nice panoramic shot of the stadium.

Then moved to another side that has better side view of the pitch.

They showed us the interview room using for manager(s) to give interview after a match. Some player transfer announcement also happened here.

And … changing room! Yeah got all the uniform of every player hanging around the wall. I doubted what the players are doing in their preparation time here on a match day.

Finally, getting out to the pitch just like the players do. Hoorayyyy….

Wow, this felt so nice ….

Seeing home seating residing a seat of LVG and the substitutes was amazing.

Ok, that was fun. Next time will be a match day visit! Until we meet again. ☺

--

--