A place for parents: Tina Lee on how she thrives as a working mom at Dropbox

Dropbox
Life Inside Dropbox
3 min readMay 14, 2019
Tina with her sons Maxwell (left) & Mason (right)

When you’re a working parent, it can often feel like you have two full-time jobs. That’s why Dropbox has worked toward developing a culture that supports and encourages parents in doing what they need to do — which is, more often than not, everything.

Senior Social Impact Manager Tina Lee knows all about the struggles and triumphs of being a working mother. She came to Dropbox only seven months after giving birth to her second child and, while going through the interview process, worried about the consequences her motherhood might have on her job prospects.

“My onsite interview at Dropbox took a big chunk of my day and already I was thinking about how I could do my interview, and pump while trying to look decent at the same time? I was like, ‘How do I tell my interviewers that I needed the mother’s room right in the middle of all my interviews? How do I bring it up?’ I was interviewing at other places too, and it had already been an uncomfortable discussion. But it was different at Dropbox, as soon as they knew from subtle clues what was going on, the attitude was ‘Yes, we can accommodate you no matter what. We’ll change your schedule.’ They walked me down to what I thought was the best nursing room I’d seen in awhile (with a hospital grade pump in the room?!) and even stored my milk without batting an eye. Like many working moms, sometimes you have to pump where you can and that may mean a bathroom or a dark closet or in a really public place with a scarf for cover!”

“I think as females, or even as parents, there’s this initial exterior, this professional presence you want to give to your employers or your customers. And you don’t want to share your personal life right away, you need to warm up to it, carefully deciding how much to tell. But at Dropbox, everyone is very open and supportive about that. I always feel I’m being supported. I love being part of the moms@ resource group, instantly connecting with other moms who get the struggle, both personally and the professional juggle.”

Now over seven months into her career at Dropbox, Tina feels she’s still getting the help she needs to balance her life with flexible scheduling and supportive managers in the mix. And even though she didn’t get to take advantage of them herself, she’s impressed by the fertility services Dropbox is covering. She thinks all of these factors combined help Dropbox attract and keep talented, dedicated people (who also happen to be parents) on their teams.

“People are already burnt out work wise, family or no family. If you’re a parent, it’s probably threefold. So if the workplace doesn’t make room for parents, it makes it harder, and people will leave the workforce. You’re losing critical talent.”

“It’s also comforting to see an environment that supports or covers reproductive services. With both of my kids, I went through IVF. A subject only now getting more attention with a sense of normalcy. Back then, there was absolutely no funding for it; this came out of pocket. But now, Dropbox and other companies are stepping up to help. Whether it’s IVF or freezing your eggs, it’s something to be recognized that employers are providing the support. Without that, it’s hard to attract and keep really good talent who otherwise would still want to be there.”

Tina’s sons are now four years old and 18 months old, and thanks to Dropbox’s family-friendly environment, have already had the chance to visit the office (food, stickers and kid swag for the win!). She’s not sure if her oldest could describe what she actually does for a living, but she hopes he’s still learning something from his working mom.

“I’ve tried to instill the value of helping others in my kids. My oldest is already very helpful always trying to help his teachers and friend. So I love being able to say, ‘This is what mommy does; I help people.’ Plain and simple. So I think that’s what he would say I do for work… also, that I open my computer a lot!”

Looking for a job that supports you as a working parent? Learn more about Dropbox and view our open positions.

--

--

Dropbox
Life Inside Dropbox

Dropbox is the world’s first smart workspace that helps people and teams focus on the work that matters.