Dropbox leaders share their favorite qualities of the people they work with

Dropbox
Life Inside Dropbox
2 min readMar 6, 2021

Today is officially Employee Appreciation Day (a very official holiday!), and we thought it was as good a day as any to thank our Dropboxers for all the great work they do. It’s been a challenging year for all, but we came together in unprecedented ways — ways that once again remind us that it’s truly our people who make working at Dropbox so special.

We checked in with some of our leaders, and they shared a little of what they appreciate the most about Dropboxers:

“One thing that has always blown me away about Dropboxers in particular is how caring they are. Any time we open a Benevity fund, we blow it out of the water. The overwhelming support for and involvement with our Dropbox Foundation partners is also very special, and I think it makes ours a unique culture.”

-Bart Volkmer, Chief Legal Officer

“Before I joined Dropbox, I did a ton of research on our customers. In fact, at my first meeting with Drew I showed up with about 40 pages of notes from customer conversations, and I’ve tried to carry that customer enthusiasm forward into everything I do here. I’ve been blown away by Dropboxers’ commitment to customers — it’s been so much fun to see. Even when it has meant deprecating features that we worked really hard on or pivoting projects we’ve poured hours and hours of time and effort into, if it’s in the best interest for our customers, I’m seeing more and more Dropboxers choose that path. It isn’t always the easiest route, but it is always the right route and that is something I’ll support our teams to do.”

-Timothy Young, President

“One thing that’s stuck with me the last four years that I’ve been at Dropbox is the authenticity and energy that Dropboxers bring to their roles. I see that not only on my own team, but in the many cross-functional partners that we work with regularly. It makes for a great work environment, where area experts feel comfortable bouncing ideas off each other to get us to the right decision, and we’re better for it.”

-Saman Asheer, Vice President, Communications

“I appreciate how committed Dropboxers are to making work human. That shows up in how we build our products, the way we support our customers, and how we work together.”

-Melanie Collins, Chief People Officer

--

--

Dropbox
Life Inside Dropbox

Dropbox is the world’s first smart workspace that helps people and teams focus on the work that matters.