How little moments add up to big rewards for Dropbox dads

Dropbox
Life Inside Dropbox
2 min readJun 18, 2021

As Dropboxers across the world have settled into Virtual First, which means that our primary work experience now takes place at home, the way that a lot of us approach parenting has shifted dramatically as well. Gone are the days of commutes that restricted the amount of time we were able to spend with our kids, or the in-office routines that made it a little more difficult to pick them up from school or take them to a doctor’s appointment. Now we have the opportunity to be involved in the small yet magical moments that make up every day of our children’s lives, and that’s been a transformative benefit for many Dropbox parents.

In honor of Father’s Day, we asked a few Dropbox dads how Virtual First has impacted their fatherhood journey. And no matter what age their kids were, the results were always positive.

For some, it’s the opportunity to support their partners and share childcare responsibilities as they prepare for major life changes. David Schneider, Head of Channel Center of Excellence said, “Because my wife is pregnant, she doesn’t feel great chasing a baby around, so I can be much more helpful there that I would normally be. When work is over for the day, I go outside and am immediately hanging out with our daughter.”

Enjoying the outdoors and physical activity with their kids is a common theme for Dropbox dads. Said Director of Recruiting Pipeline Channels Cameron Martin, “My family now works out together in the morning — we’re riding the Peloton, we’re running on the treadmill, and my daughters are on the jump rope. I never experienced that being in the office. Now I have more time, and it’s not because I’m not doing my work, but I can now dedicate that time to what’s important to me in my life.”

Others who have already welcomed a new child into the world during the pandemic have been able to be present for moments they would have otherwise missed with a normal office work schedule. Carlos Ramos, CX Global Support, said, “Something that we did was we made [my daughter] laugh on purpose, and if I hadn’t been working from home, I wouldn’t have been able to experience that.”

Hear more from these dads in a short video. Happy Father’s Day!

--

--

Dropbox
Life Inside Dropbox

Dropbox is the world’s first smart workspace that helps people and teams focus on the work that matters.