Lindsey Ackerman shares her technique for working better in her role

Dropbox
Life Inside Dropbox
3 min readDec 11, 2019
Lindsey Ackerman

Q: What is your name, what office do you work out of, and how long have you been at Dropbox?

A: I’m Lindsey Ackerman. I work in the San Francisco office and have been here since August 2015.

With admins at our holiday party in 2015

Q: What is your current role at Dropbox?

A: I am an administrative business partner (ABP). I provide support to our VP of Product, Adam Nash.

Q: Is there anything that you have accomplished at Dropbox that you’re proud of?

A: Onboarding, mentoring, and developing our ABP team since 2015! I was the 9th admin hired at Dropbox (currently have been here the longest), and since then, we have grown to almost 50! I am so grateful to be able to work with almost every ABP who has come through the door and watch them grow to be super successful in their roles. Onboarding is a passion of mine, and I hope to continue to develop our process for our rockstar ABPs.

Back in 2016 when there were only six EPD admins
With the Admin Team in 2017

Q: Have you had transformational or inspirational moments at Dropbox?

A: Throughout my career here, I have been able to grow within the Engineering, Product, and Design (EPD) organization. I have touched Engineering, Growth, and now Product. I feel so grateful to be able to spend time and get to know three large orgs within our company!

Q: Why did you decide to join Dropbox?

A: Honestly, I walked through the front door at Berry (our previous office) and had overwhelming feeling that Dropbox was the place I needed to be. Everyone I met was so friendly, inspiring, and aligned with the culture I was looking for.

Q: What did you do before?

A: I worked as an executive assistant at Stanford Health Care.

Q: What surprised you most about Dropbox when you joined?

A: I was surprised by how every single person I worked with wanted to help me succeed in my role! The overwhelming support was such an amazing feeling.

Hack Week 2016

Q: What do you do to work better in your role?

A: I am constantly eager to learn more. If I am unsure about something or want to dive deeper on a certain topic, I find another Dropboxer who has the knowledge and learn from them.

Q: What are your hobbies? Or what can we find you doing outside of work?

A: I love being outdoors! Whether that means going on hikes or drinking rosé under the stars, outside is where I feel the most at peace. I am also a diehard fan of workout classes… boxing, spin, running, pilates, yoga, you name it!

Q: What accomplishments are you proud of outside of work?

A: I used to play for the Olympic development team for soccer.

Q: What is something interesting about you that not a lot of people know?

A: I have an insta-famous account that I created for my parents’ cow. It is a side project I really enjoy working on (@buckleythehighlandcow), if anyone is interested.

Wine tasting with Admins in 2016

--

--

Dropbox
Life Inside Dropbox

Dropbox is the world’s first smart workspace that helps people and teams focus on the work that matters.