Mario Middleton explains why diverse DEI teams are so important

Dropbox
Life Inside Dropbox
5 min readMay 4, 2020

At Dropbox, DEI (Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion) is one of our top priorities. As such, we’ve assembled one of the largest DEI teams in the tech industry to make sure that this remains a focus within our organization. Diversity Business Partner Mario Middleton shared with us why he’s passionate about DEI and how all team members can help make Dropbox an inclusive workplace for all.

How did you end up working in the DEI field?

I’ve been in the DEI field for 17 years now. I was kind of just dropped into it. I was working for an organization that was looking for candidates, and the referral bonus was like $2000 per candidate. So being young and in college, I just started referring people who looked like me and sounded like me as well as other people in my network. Eventually the organization said, “Hey Mario, you’re bringing us a lot of diverse candidates, can you help us from a recruiting standpoint?” So I said yes!

From there, I started progressing up through the organization to HRBP [Human Resources Business Partner] and leading diversity programs, and then I went to the University of Phoenix and started leading their internal and external diversity programs. I was over a couple of different colleges, and I also helped to deal with public policy, to ensure access for women and minorities and others was equal across the board.

What’s it like to be be a member of the DEI team at Dropbox?

I’ve only been here since November, but what really attracted me was the investment they’re making in diversity. At previous jobs, when I was over diversity, it was just me over 36,000 employees or even 90,000 employees, with maybe just like a program manager on my team. So coming here to Dropbox and seeing seven [other] full-time people on our actual team that are committed to diversity excites me!

Dropbox is very focused on making sure we have diverse teams at all levels. We’re doing better than most organizations out there simply in terms of investment. Everybody’s like, “I’m a supporter of this, I wanna do the right thing, what is it that I need to do?” I haven’t received, “I’m not interested” or “I don’t wanna support that.” Everyone just says, “Help me be a better ally to folks who don’t look like me to ensure sure they’re getting the resources that are available. I don’t want to let the color of my skin be a hindrance to that.”

How do you and your team integrate and/or celebrate your collective differences?

We have a very diverse team, with different people and personalities and backgrounds and places we’ve lived. From an inclusion standpoint, we’re always looking at not who has the first or best idea, but who has an idea that we can all build upon. And by not working in silos, we’re always critiquing each other and giving feedback and making sure that, as a team, we’re putting our best foot forward. For example, before any presentation we do, we come together for that individual who’s giving it and give feedback. It’s never “you’re doing this bad,” it’s just about how we can help each other be better and show up better. We want to make sure everybody is getting a fair chance to show up on the best way possible.

Another way we’re inclusive is when we run our actual meetings and have folks on VC [Video Conference]. We make sure to say, “the room is good, but for the people out there on VC, what are your thoughts?” We know that when people are on VC it’s hard to interrupt or interject their thoughts and ideas, so we purposely pause and ask those questions so they have an opportunity to speak as well.

The DEI theme for 2020 is “I Am Committed” — focused on committing to hiring diverse teams, developing and advancing equitably, and engaging in personal growth— what does that mean to you personally?

In one sense, if we did nothing else around diversity and inclusion for the rest of the year, I’m committed to at least doing three things. The first is making sure that, as an organization, we create a diverse team, plain and simple. We wanna make sure we’re hiring the best talent out there. Second thing is that we’re developing everyone equitably — to me that means that everyone has a fair chance to move up, because we know that in the tech industry, women and underrepresented minorities sometimes get lost in the shuffle. So if we can just ensure that these folks are getting a fair chance to move up, let’s do that. And the last piece is, how are people growing within the organization? Are they happy in their position? Is there any opportunity to take their skill set and move it to another department? In older organizations you see an average tenure of 10–20 years, versus at a tech company, the average tenure is 2–3 years. So we lose a lot of institutional knowledge every few years. So we’re trying to retain that — and it’s not about a person going and finding an opportunity somewhere else, it’s about making sure opportunities for them are here and noticeable and that person has access to them.

How have you embraced/made the most of working from home?

Personally, I miss the office! I’m an extrovert, so I miss the social interaction that comes from being in the office and in the presence of people. On the flip side of that, I do like working from home — I feel I’m a little more productive because I work longer hours. But it really hasn’t affected me that much, except I hate all the emails! Before we could have quick conversations in person, now it’s all emails.

I have twins, one boy and one girl, so I’m spending more time with them. Instead of getting up early and rushing out of the house, I go right to my office. They have a little cell phone that I set an alarm on for 12 pm for lunch, and when it goes off they’re right here knocking at the door. I can go outside and play tag or hide and seek with them, and that gets me out and gets my energy up.

Anything else you’d like to share or highlight about your team?

We have a very well rounded, productive, energetic team. I’ve seen good teams before, but we have a great team, with very different backgrounds on how we approach stuff, so everyone doesn’t have the same likemindedness that you may get somewhere else. Everyone brings something unique that I think will help grow Dropbox’s DEI program to the next level.

You can learn more about our values and the benefits we offer our employees that help them thrive, no matter where they’re working, here.

--

--

Dropbox
Life Inside Dropbox

Dropbox is the world’s first smart workspace that helps people and teams focus on the work that matters.