Meet Diya Patel, a mom, baking enthusiast, and lover of all things culture

Dropbox
Life Inside Dropbox
4 min readMay 13, 2020

May is Asian and Pacific Islander Heritage Month. While our offices may be closed, we still plan to have virtual activities around our inclusive theme, “api& ___ ,” celebrating the vibrancy, diversity, and messiness of our intersecting identities.

The “&” lets us break out of a single definition: at a personal level, it creates space for us to explore our intersecting identities; on a global scale, it invites us to reflect on the larger communities that we’re a part of. We explore this theme by asking some of our Dropboxers about their pastimes and their experiences. Diya Patel shared her passion for baking, her culture, and her family with us.

I’m Asian and _________ ?

A mom. And a baking enthusiast!

My daughter and I

Can you tell us how you got interested in baking and started exploring this passion?

I’ve dabbled in baking on and off over the years, but over the last six weeks I’ve baked scones, Harry Potter cookies, a birthday cake for my daughter, and more! I find joy in the meticulousness of baking, and it helps me to not think about what else is going on.

From left to right: Mixed berry scones, chocolate chip cookies, banana bread
From left to right: Blueberry muffins, Harry Potter sugar cookies, double layer vanilla cake; funfetti and rainbow layers with vanilla buttercream frosting for my daughter’s birthday!

Can you tell us about your first day at Dropbox?

I was just amazed by the food — the Tuck Shop at Dropbox is incredible (and I miss it dearly).

What team are you on?

I’m on the IT&S [Information Technology & Systems] team. I lead the HRIS [Human Resources Information Systems] group.

What office do you work in?

Owens [what we call our SF headquarters] in San Francisco.

What is your favorite part of the Asians@ ERG?

I love the events that they put on. They have a lot of events specifically catered to different Asian cultures, like celebrations for Chinese New Year and Diwali.

My daughter at the Diwali 2019 event

What have you learned about yourself from current or past API months?

I’ve always enjoyed the cultural aspect of being Asian, Indian specifically. And API month is a good way to introduce my daughter to it, because she’s not going to be as immersed in it as I was growing up in India. It provides really great opportunities to showcase the outfits and the music and the overall culture from so many different countries.

What is one of your favorite Dropbox moments?

When I started I was a team of one, and over the course of a year we grew to five! I remember having a moment at a team lunch after hiring the last person of our team, when I realized what a diverse and amazing team it was and how proud I was of everything we had accomplished and what we were going to accomplish.

Where would you like to most visit once quarantine is over?

My daughter was scheduled to go to India in June to spend the summer with her grandparents. She will obviously not be doing that now, but once it’s over, I would love to go back to India with her to see my family.

With my parents and daughter at a family wedding on my last visit to India in January 2019

Do you have a favorite Dropbox event?

I love the happy hours every Friday at the Tuck Shop. My favorite Dropbox memories have been cultivated at those happy hours — I love being able to meet everybody and hang out with people that you usually wouldn’t get the chance to.

What Dropbox office would you most like to visit?

Dublin!

What is your favorite Tuck Shop [our cafe] station?

The Asian food station.

What part of the office do you miss most during quarantine?

I miss the people I work with. That’s the beauty about Dropbox, people generally are happy to be there.

You’re the front woman of a band. What kind of music do they play?

Definitely something groovy.

You can learn more about the various ERGs that support team members of all different backgrounds at Dropbox here.

--

--

Dropbox
Life Inside Dropbox

Dropbox is the world’s first smart workspace that helps people and teams focus on the work that matters.