What’s it like to work for Dropbox from a lake house in Canada? Chantelle Jewkes fills us in

Dropbox
Life Inside Dropbox
4 min readNov 17, 2020

At Dropbox, we kicked off 2020 by expanding our teams in a few new countries and regions. One of these was Canada, where a distributed group based in and around Toronto broke virtual ground on making Dropbox a formidable force in the Canadian tech scene. Senior Enterprise Account Executive Chantelle Jewkes gave us some insight into her new role, her WFH culinary goals, and her life on the lake.

How long have you been working for Dropbox?

About seven months, I started in March.

Can you tell us about a project that you’ve been part of that you’re particularly proud of?

Over the last seven months, we’ve made a really awesome investment in Dropbox in Canada. I’ve personally spent a lot of time trying to build out our channel, which is a huge initiative for our organization, and it offers our customers huge value. The biggest thing I’ve done to date is forge relationships within our channel, and trying to open those up for the future of Dropbox in Canada.

How have you been challenged at work recently?

I enjoy my job a ton, so there’s nothing that really bogs me down! However, working in a pandemic definitely has its difficulties; the effects are challenging for everyone.

What’s your favorite thing about your role at Dropbox?

Coming from my previous environment, I’ve been accustomed to talking to healthcare customers. But I love talking to customers of every single business now; it’s super exciting to talk to businesses you just don’t have any clue about. You get to learn all sorts of new things about new industries that you’ve never worked in or even knew existed!

What’s one of your favorite Dropbox memories/events?

I think going to the San Francisco office had to be one of the coolest experiences — not just in my life in tech, but my life in general! It’s such a welcoming company with so much diversity, and it’s just a lot of fun. And the office feels like you’re in Disney World.

Where’s the first place you want to travel when quarantine is over?

I would really like to go to South Africa and cage dive with great white sharks.

Are there any new hobbies you’ve been exploring during quarantine?

I got my boaters license and I’m learning to drive a boat. I also got into fishing, and I learned how to slalom ski, which is waterskiing on one ski. But I haven’t learned how to bake bread or anything, I’m really failing on that front. All of the yeast in my region was sold out at one point, so you couldn’t even make bread if you wanted to!

What’s your favorite thing about working from home?

I get to learn to slalom ski at lunch! But honestly, I’ve been very fortunate. I’m at a lake house, so my favorite thing about working from home is getting to work from nature. It’s definitely made me appreciate and find gratitude for all of the simple things in my life.

What’s your go-to WFH lunch?

I usually eat a really good, fully loaded sandwich. My secondary lunch choice, if I don’t have time, is pizza!

What would you want prospective new team members to know about working at Dropbox?

This is a place that treats every employee with so much humanity. That’s a part of our core principles, and I feel like all of Dropbox’s core principles we really do embrace. You feel so cared for here, you don’t feel like you’re just a number — you feel like you matter. And there’s always a place for you here; if where you are within the organization isn’t working, you find another place. It’s such an accepting and caring organization to be working for.

Think Dropbox might be the perfect fit for you? You can find more information and job postings here.

--

--

Dropbox
Life Inside Dropbox

Dropbox is the world’s first smart workspace that helps people and teams focus on the work that matters.