Commuter Train Culture: Breaking the Law

Mike Mahony
Life Insights
3 min readJul 23, 2015

--

In my month long (so far) journey into the commuter train culture, I have seen so many people blatantly violate the law that I wonder how they don’t get caught. The Metropolitan Transit Authority (MTA) has clearly posted signs all over the place with what you can and cannot do along with what code section you are violating if you choose to ignore the sign. What follows is just a sampling of what I’ve seen.

No Eating of Drinking on the Train

The reason for this is obvious. If you allow people to eat and drink on the train it won’t be long before it is a gross and disgusting mess of spills. People just ignore this. They sit and eat a burrito, drink Coke, etc. After enduring some of this, it made me realize that yet another reason for not allowing food and drink on the train is that I, as a commuter, have to smell that food. What smells like heaven to one person smells like hell to another.

You then have the people who routinely walk the trains selling food and drink. This one is so brazen that I am truly amazed they don’t get caught.

Failure to Pay the Fare

The commuter train is quite reasonably priced at $1.75 for a complete one-way trip. Despite how reasonable it is, people still try to avoid paying the fare. This one is under control. The sherrif is waiting at random places to scan your TAP card (the card that contains your fare). Why risk the huge fine? Another point that was brought up during a discussion I had with a sherrif is that anyone with wants or warrants will be picked up during this process because their ID is checked with dispatch. Who risks jail time for $1.75? I am baffled by this!

Music

The signs say that music can be played as long as you use headphones. This makes sense. Well, ask me how I felt the other day when there was a duel between gangster rap and country music. Music, like food, is one of those very personal things. I really don’t want to hear how your uncle’s low rider pants tripped his ass up as he ran from the police for stealing a burrito from the burrito cart on Western Avenue. Yet that’s exactly what I had to listen to the other day!

Pickpockets

Yes, these guys/gals still exist! I watched one in action the other day and purposely made eye contact so he would know I was on to him. This is a real threat in an environment that sometimes requires people to be right up against each other. I can only imagine what other things go on!

Conclusion

Crime is everywhere, but some of the silly things I see on the train make me scratch my head. Risking a record for eating food? Risking a record to avoid a fare of $1.75? I don’t get it and never will!

--

--

Mike Mahony
Life Insights

I am a 30-year technology professional currently serving as the Chief Web Scientist for The Web Scientists, a progressive technology services organization.