iOS8 Update: My Initial Impressions

As most everyone knows, the iOS8 update was released yesterday, 9/17/2012. As I always do with these updates, I waited a day to eliminate most of the traffic issues that you see when an iOS update is released. What follows are my impressions of the new update.

Ease of Installation

Installing the update was a breeze. I simply went into the settings and updates area and told it to download and install the software. It did everything else automatically without my interviention. It was smooth and took hardly any time at all considering what a huge update it was.

Initial Usage Issues

Right away I had trouble with the iCloud keychain. I could not remember my security code and there was no option to reset it during the install. I managed to get through that and then go back to Settings | iCloud and was able to reset my code there. Everything with that worked well.

I then noticed a problem with my text messages. I could not read all of the text of my newests messages. They were below the bottom of the screen. I changed font size and everything else that had to do with the display and nothing worked. Finally I did a soft reset (holding down Home and Lock button at the same time) and that fixed the problem and I was able to see all of my message text.

However a new issue arose with the “←Messages” link that returns you to the message index screen. It was completely greyed out. This problem was resolved by closing the Messages app and then reopening it. Since doing that I have not had any further problems with Messages.

Overall Impression

Overall I am impressed with most of the changes. It is a solid update from the standpoint of features. I love the fact that a double-tap on the home button brings up my favorite contacts. That is a valuable time saving feature for me. The “Hey Siri” feature is amazing and works quite well. I would definitely say you need this update if you are an iPhone user whose device is eligible for the update.

Mike Mahony
Life Insights

I am a 30-year technology professional currently serving as the Chief Web Scientist for The Web Scientists, a progressive technology services organization.