Why I Shut Off My Freedom Pop MiFi

Beware!

Mike Mahony
Life Insights

--

Like many people, I saw Freedom Pop offer their MiFi devices on GroupOn for very little money and a month of free 2 gig service. Looking at their service plans I noted that the prices were very reasonable so I gave it a shot. I ordered two devices, one for my girlfriend and one for me. I thank God my girlfriend decided she didn’t want hers and here is why.

Everything went well during the free trial. I used my device mainly in my car to stream music while driving. I put the device to the test. I used it every single day. When the trial was over I had used less than 1.5 gig and decided to give it a shot, so I paid for a quarterly plan.

Fast forward 3 weeks from the day I paid for the quarterly plan. I try to use my service and find that it has been suspended. How, if I paid for 3 months was my service suspended? The answer will probably surprise you.

I called Freedom Pop and a nice woman responded that I needed to update my billing information and that is why the service was suspended. That made me suspicious so I questioned her further. What I found out is that Freedom Pop claimed I had used 2.46 gigs in just the 3 weeks I had been on the plan and they wanted me to add money to my account. Honestly, I used the service LESS during the paid period than during the trial period yet here I was dealing with a crazy billing situation.

After some discussion, I decided to cancel both devices and get a refund. Something is amiss with Freedom Pop. It seemed tooo good to be true and like my mom always said, if it seems too good to be true then it mustn’t be true.

Please beware the billing policies of Freedom Pop. They take advantage of you by improperly tracking your data usage. It is a scam in my opinion which is why the service will remain off for good. If you disagree, perhaps you want to buy 2 Freedom Pop boxes really cheap?

--

--

Mike Mahony
Life Insights

I am a 30-year technology professional currently serving as the Chief Web Scientist for The Web Scientists, a progressive technology services organization.