The Simplest Way To Hack Your Productivity In Under 2 Minutes

A stress-free solution to productivity 

Dragos Bernat
4 min readApr 30, 2014

The 2 Minute Rule, with a twist: The Kickstarter

Don’t you want to be more productive in your life, and achieve your own goals and dreams? We all do, but sometimes being productive is something we may struggle with at times. I stumbled upon David Allen’s 2 minute rule, and was shocked by the result I had within minutes. After a few experiments, I added my own little twist to his rule and my productivity has never been higher.

David Allen is the best-selling author of Getting Things Done.
What David Allen has to say about his 2 minute rule: I have a two-minute rule that says: If you determine an action can be done in two minutes, you actually should do it right then because it’ll take longer to organize it and review it than it would be to actually finish it the first time you notice it. If you don’t avoid the question about what’s the next step, lots of two minute items could be done right then. Now, there are many times that you have a next step that’s going to take longer amount of time, like drafting some big new spreadsheet. You wouldn’t want to do that in two minutes. It’s a good idea to keep a whole lot of little things to do when you get those strange little windows of time, like clean up old e-mails, or purge some of your files. There’s a lot of things around me to do when I get a weird little window of time and when I don’t have a lot of energy. Let’s say I finished a big phone call and I don’t have another one for seven minutes, I’m likely to just be cleaning spam out of my e-mails or you know purging a file, or perhaps going and getting a cup of coffee.

The basis of this rule is:

  • If it takes less than two minutes, then start right away.

This rule is very simple and easy to follow.

Before the start of my day I check my goal list. Here I write what I have to do for the following day. Some days I look at my list, and I feel that I just can’t. I start thinking of the obstacles that I would have to overcome. I even start playing in my head how much time I will have to invest in order to complete my list. That’s when I use this rule. I added my own little twist to this rule. A twist that makes starting, which is the most difficult part, quite easy and effective.

I use this two minute rule to gain momentum. This momentum gives me a kick in the ass for when I procrastinate or am scared of just starting. Once I start, everything starts to flow together. It helps take away my negative thoughts and focuses on the doing

If you can cross the street now, cross it. Don’t think about it, how, when and if. One foot in front of the other. That’s what this rule is all about.

The reasoning behind it

With every new goal or habit the hardest part is starting. We either look at the amount of work ahead, the obstacles and the time we have to invest. When you just look at these things it makes starting, the last thing you want to do.

That’s why we can use this rule to just start. No matter how big your goals, how large your habits, or how difficult your projects may seem, you can start in under 2 minutes. That’s the twist. Because once you start you will feel more inclined to continue. You can start flowing with the activity you are in. While writing this post, I just started. It took less than two minutes and now I’m a couple of hours in, and have written well over 1,000 words.

Take for example some habits or goals. Do you want to start exercising by running twice a week? It takes less than 2 minutes to put on your shoes and get out of the house. Now start running.

Do you want to start writing your massive 500 page book? Pick up the pen and start writing. It takes less than 2 minutes.

Forget the end result and use this a kickstarter for any new goal or habit.

Want to clean your desk? Start right now, and do it for 2 minutes. There’s no worst case scenario.

This is the ultimate kickstarter. It’s not about achieving your goals, it’s about starting them. Once you start, you’ve overcome the impossible.

You can think as long as you want about the end result or the outcome, but all of that doesn’t matter if you don’t start.

Do it now

Let’s try and apply this rule. It’s the only way to find out if it works for you.

Pick something you want to do, a habit or a goal, or anything else.

Start in 2 minutes, do it now.

Go.

How do you stay productive? Let me know in the comments

________________________________________________________________________________________

Thanks for taking the time to read this. If you found value in this article, I’d really appreciate it if you hit the Recommend button.

Dragos Bernat writes at SelfHabit where he shares methods and strategies based on research and practical knowledge to help make creating good habits, living healthy, and simplifying life easier. For refreshing ideas on how to simplify your life emotionally, physically and mentally, join his free newsletter.

Connect and stay in touch with Dragos at: Twitter, Facebook, Google+.

--

--

Dragos Bernat

Writer, weightlifter and simplicity enthusiast. I’m always learning and love helping, come say hi! — http://selfhabit.com/ and Twitter: @SelfHabit