A Hidden Treasure — The Library

W. J. Jeyaraj
Life Ledger
Published in
3 min readJun 28, 2019
Start reading early for it will help you unleash the writer in you.

I was seven years old with nowhere to go
No one to talk and time went slow
I was always by myself for I didn’t have friends
Just a lonely soul roaming on the sands

One fine spring it started to rain
The skies were grey, the color of pain
I was stuck inside, just me, myself and I
When I thought of cleaning my room inside

I stepped into my room and looked around
Deciding where to start without another sound
The bed was not made and it looked all messed up
So I walked towards the bed when I fell to the ground

Struggling to get up, I slowly looked up
When my eyes caught the sight of my first teddy ‘pup’
I reached to grab it from beneath the bed
When something else came crawling, something in red

Alas, it wasn’t red! It was a book big and brown
I picked it up firmly and promptly looked down
“The hidden treasure” was the name of the book
With an anonymous author, maybe a guy from a nook

I am not a big reader and I have never been
But this was captivated my attention, nothing intervened
I couldn’t wait longer so I closed my door
Buried in my bed, I was long hooked to the core

So I opened the first page and it simply read
“To another author reading this, lying on his bed”
Now that was creepy, that was me it meant
The anonymous author was already in my head

I started reading from the very first chapter
A mysterious island with dinosaurs and raptors
More than the story, I was hooked to the creativity
The thrills and adventures, so much expressivity

Day after day and night after night
I hung around with books and read under the light
Days turned into months and months into years
Suddenly I was seventeen and I forewent my fears

I chose my path, a life full of stories
Not one or two, but a million categories
I kept on writing as I kept on dreaming
New places and people, I trod new territories

A thousand four hundred pages and three books later
I was finally named ‘The Best Selling Author’
If I had not been bored and on the ground at seven
I wouldn’t be on this pedestal, feeling right in heaven

It took a single book to change my life
And I imagine what I’ll be without that strife
Then I realized something I should have ten years ago
“The hidden treasure”, I should have gone with the flow

I was living in a little town with schools far away
So I was homeschooled and there I’d always stay
But there was a library right next door in our town
Full of books and knowledge, all I could have called my own

Words are like a knife that can cut sharp through the soul
More powerful than a King, his men, and a country whole
With so many words that I could have read so early
I could’ve found my calling, all for free, right from the library

So I urge you, “Another author reading this, lying on the bed”
There’s much more to read than what I have said
If there’s one place that is remotely close to the hidden treasure
It’s the library, its books, overflowing like a river.

--

--