Creation is lonely.

The one thing creators don’t talk about enough.

Dr. Faisal Jamshaid
Life Lemons

--

Photo by Sasha Freemind on Unsplash

If there’s one thing I never expected from the process of creation, it was loneliness.

I used to think content creation would involve meeting new faces and spending time with existing ones.

And whilst that is the case for a select few, it isn’t for the majority.

THE PROCESS

Over the last year and a half, the majority of my creative work has taken place in isolation.

I write alone, I film alone, I hit publish alone.

The creative process is one that requires independent thinking and dedicated time to create — creators are all familiar with the state of ‘flow’ necessary to produce their best work, also known as the uninterrupted state of being in the ‘zone’.

Outside of collaborative efforts, it’s difficult to dive into the creative process and get in the zone without periodically isolating yourself.

THE SHARING

Creative work needs promotion. Your work doesn’t spread itself- you have to be its biggest promoter.

If you can’t find the confidence and belief to share your own work, how can you expect others to?

When you begin to share your work

--

--

Dr. Faisal Jamshaid
Life Lemons

Documenting my personal philosophy on what really matters in life. Youtube/Newsletter: www.faisaljamshaid.com