Into the City

Felipe Acosta
Life of a Dropout
Published in
3 min readNov 25, 2019
Photo by Jezael Melgoza on Unsplash

I am moving to Mexico City starting January 2020. I believe this to be my best option to further my self-growth both professionals and personally, but that doesn’t make it any less complicated, it just makes it all worth it.

All this started a couple of weeks back, when I went to INCmty. There, I met a couple of very remarkable people, from whom I learned a lot and gotten very valuable advice to life and self growth. This trip, like most trips, has gotten me thinking about where I am going and where I want to go. It made me zoom out in life, in a way. I think that I am doing what I am supposed to be doin to go where I want to go. I am precisely where I am supposed to be, but where am I to be next?

I vividly recall Marcela Gutierrez (March) presuming my eventual livelihood in Mexico City and, I haven’t much stopped thinking about it. Punctually, I have been thinking about how I got to know her and all the other people I met at Monterrey, connections which I think advance me in many ways. How can I get more of it? I think that it all boils down to collision theory.

“The collision theory is based on the assumption that for a reaction to occur it is necessary for the reacting species to come together or collide with one another.”
— Collision theory, Encyclopedia Brittanica.

Then, how do I further accelerate my self growth? I need to be in an environment as talent-dense as possible, and then just care to collide.

It si true that Mexico City has many more opportunities than Chihuahua, but so it does people, and therefore it is much more competitive. I have been warned about this, like if it were a bad thing. It isn’t, or at least it isn’t for me. Peter Thiel says that competition is for losers, but what he’s really preaching is rising above the banal dynamics of competition, or competition for its own sake. He says one should rather strive to be on a league of one’s own. I think that’s the same as becoming incrementally scarce, and scarcity is something I have already been trying to implement in myself. I believe that living in Mexico City might help in that.

Living alone in the city will also force me to take care of many thing I’ve until now taken a given; rent, food, transportation, taking care of my self when I’m sick, budgeting. All of this with the final outcome of making me much more mature and responsible. I do believe, though, that my biggest challenge there will be to be sure not to overwork myself, specially knowing that I will keep working and doing other things.

As of this moment, nothing is a given. I don’t know if I will be going to Santa Fe starting this January, fro anything may happen from there to now, and the nuances of this transfer have proven to be a bit more complex than I thought, specially since my academic history is a bit particular. I am nonetheless extremely sure of something, I want to go there and fulfill this plan, and despite the fact that I will do as much as humanly possible to make it, I know that I will be fine even if it doesn’t go as planned.

From my job’s perspective, I will be working part-time at my current job at Orion Startups, as Head of Digital Transformation, at least this is sure for the first month, where me and my boss will see how much time school ultimately requires from me and how much that enables me to keep working on my normal duties without burning out.

Things seem bright, and I’m working on making them brighter.

--

--