New phone, 5G and my thoughts

DailyPriyab
Life Ramblings
Published in
4 min readJul 26, 2020

I have been using Lenovo zuk z2 phone as my daily driver since 2017 and it has served me well, this is one of those phones when was a high spec phone with Snapdragon 820 SoC, when it was launched it looked like iPhone by design, but though having software issues, it was very helpful and I have been using it extensively since last 3 years. Lately I have been planning to upgrade but because of its portability I am still using it. But since last one year I have had issues with the phone one of being old software (Android 6) and lack of host of features that latest versions of Android have. This phone never had any software updates, there were few and far between but for most part it was still an older version of Android way back from 2016. Thanks to its high spect which was 4GB at the time I have been able to use this phone without any issues but now 4GB is low spec.

While I have always wanted to upgrade to another latest generation phone but I have not got which spec which good match my expectations well I have checked out Xiaomi, Realme, Motorola brands but after the GST hike the prices of phones that were let say 14-15000 INR is now 18000 Rs, the sharp increase in price has forced me to think, what kind of phone I can buy, I want good spec and within budget. Flagship phones becomes very expensive and out of my price sensitive range.

There were few models this year which I was eagerly waiting to buy like Poco X2, Realme 6 Pro, Realme X2 and a few other models and Redmi Note 9 Pro, but at the price point which was pre-GST, but are expensive phones for me because of the GST hike, also because of the pandemic, the availability of these phones has becomes a huge challenge.

I want to go for a high spec phone with good capabilities and possibly 5G, when I checked out in the market and reviews many people said to wait and not to buy a 5G phone right now because in India the 5G implementation is not implemented and the 5G model that are coming today would become obsolete in some time. Also because 5G implementation is still happening around the world and not mature. The full potential will not been realised for next 2-3 years. Many advice to use 4G phone. For me I am looking for a phone that will serve me for few years to come. The biggest challenge is that that international markets are getting some of the best 5G phones but not here. In India implementation of 5G is something that I wished would have been started last year because it needs good network I know that 4G today in India is more like 3g. The speed that we expect out 5G will be more like 4G, but consider for for country like India where the average speed of internet was few hundred Kbs in 3G, today getting a 4G speed means speed of 20mbps on your phone. Hence the promise of 5G with the better network connectivity is of utmost important to take India's growth story for good with even 100mbps speed a reality.

Well I should not dream big about changing the country and its future. My wish is just having a phone that would serve me better, the question is I can always buy a 4G phone and can use it till 5G is fully implemented but you see for the kind of person I am, I always look out for the next big thing, I want to try it, I can always go with the flagship phone, but flagship phone the cost now a bomb, there is no guarantee that the kind of specs and the kind of features that I want available in a 5G phone so always there is this idea about the sweet spot of getting a good bargain of a Phone with good specs that would serve for the future. I have very high hopes from the next generation of Snapdragon 865 SoC and various other resources that would bring in the New 5G modem technology that would be in sync with the new implementations of 5G. Already we are seeing talks of 6G but we should not be running behind fire flies, the 5G implementation that we're gonna talk about need to generate revenues and would be used for at least a decade and that would become the backdrop for the Global development. 5G has become essential for the future growth story and obviously we need a good 5G implementation. India will also see sale of more and more 5G handset in coming months. I feel while 5G broadband is becoming popular and showing the future potential of 5G, it is very important that we also get the 5G internet capability on mobiles. It is because fast internet would obviously improve the real time communication, service delivery and would help in realising many new potential business which currently are not just possible.

In the end to me getting a good phone which would serve my work as well as would allow me to explore the full potential of the latest Android versions and as well as the latest technology that has to offer is of utmost important and hence I am waiting, 2020 is a bad year, new phones that were launch are very less and the amount technological innovation has been hampered by covid-19 I hope next year will get to the pace at which we have been doing technological Innovation and hope we would get the full potential of it. Till then my dilemma continues, should I buy a 4G or a 5G phone.

--

--

DailyPriyab
Life Ramblings

Data Engineering | Data Governance | Azure | Spark | Python | Manager