I was disappointed to learn I was a Reflector in Human Design

amanda prechel
Life, sampled
Published in
2 min readFeb 4, 2024

--

And that’s precisely what drew me in to learn more.

Photo by Vince Fleming on Unsplash

If you’re not already familiar, Human Design is a system that generates a birth chart called a “bodygraph” based on your time, date and place of birth. There are 4 main types and on this fated day in 2018, I discovered that my type was the “Reflector.”

Reflectors make up roughly 1–2% of the world’s population, making them the least common type (though 1–2% of humanity is still a significant amount of people!). Each type has what I refer to as “The Two Teachers” which are the Signature (a sign in your life that you are living authentically as yourself — the loving and gentle teacher who encourages you to keep trusting and moving through life as yourself rather than who others told you to be) and the Not-Self Theme (a sign or feeling in your life that serves as the more difficult teacher, the tough love teacher, the one who points out an uncomfortable truth).

For the Reflector, the Signature is “Surprise.” And the Not-Self Theme? Disappointment. When you run your chart you’ll see this information on the page next to your bodygraph. My attention immediately went to this word and at the core of my being, I felt it. The weight of the disappointment of so many years of seeing unrealized potential in environments, systems and in the world at…

--

--

amanda prechel
Life, sampled

2/4 reflector in human design • writer • traveler • tantra yoga teacher • trained clairvoyant • reiki practitioner • life experimenter • minnesota