Highlights from our Annual Summer Shutdown

Thumbtack People Team
Life @ Thumbtack
Published in
4 min readJul 19, 2022

From June 27th through July 4th, Thumbtackers took time off to recharge during our yearly summer shutdown. There were no emails, no meetings and no slack messages — it was truly a time to relax or spend time on a much needed vacation.

So, why a summer shutdown? Taking collective time off was a leadership decision directly resulting from our employee survey feedback. We’re committed to providing employees with a positive work experience where they can bring their best selves to work each and every day — and this means creating space for everyone to establish better work-life balance.

In this Q&A, we chatted with three Thumbtackers about the outdoor adventures they enjoyed during the week-long shutdown and how the time off has impacted their experience working at Thumbtack!

Jeffrey Ramos (he/him), Head of Trust & Safety Proactive Operations

Based in: Manila

What did you do during this year’s summer shutdown?

During this year’s summer shutdown, I explored my home province and traveled to Hundred Islands in Alaminos Pangasinan Philippines with my travel buddies. We went hiking and island touring, enjoyed the views of the beach, and dipped in its clear waters. We also explored the area for local cuisine and found some of the best food hubs in town! The Alaminos Longganisa (pork sausage) is a must-try!

How does this time off contribute to your success at Thumbtack?

I’m a firm believer that personal grounding prevents burnout and improves performance. And, I’m grateful to be part of a company that allows its employees to truly disconnect from work and do things that they enjoy like getting out and connecting with nature. Grounding helps me have renewed energy, a clear mind, and improved concentration which are critical to being productive at work.

Gina Balistreti (she/her), Senior Public Relations Manager

Based in: Salt Lake City

What did you do during this year’s summer shutdown?

My husband, dog and I took a 20 hour road trip from Utah to Wisconsin to visit family. Once we made it through the drive, we spent the week relaxing at the lake — fishing, kayaking and swimming.

How does this time off contribute to your success at Thumbtack?

It was incredible to be given the space to disconnect and be present with my family without worrying about missing an email or slack message. When you’re new at a company, it’s easy to feel the need to be always available as you’re getting up to speed, but seeing how Thumbtack encouraged employees to log off and recharge reinforced for me that employees do come first. Returning from the break left me feeling refreshed, grateful and ready to dive back into my role.

My dog Bowser and his cousin Loki
Very excited about the biggest fish I’ve ever caught!

Ben Lazar (he/him), Assistant General Counsel

Based in: Salt Lake City

What did you do during this year’s summer shutdown?

I went camping with my wife and dog in Idaho’s Sawtooth National Forest. We took our canoe out on some beautiful alpine lakes, did a few big hikes, mountain biked, and spent a lot of time in the hammock looking up at the pine trees.

How does this time off contribute to your success at Thumbtack?

Taking time off to disconnect from my phone and connect with nature and my family is critical to my well being and therefore my work. That Thumbtack makes it possible to do this while the entire company is shut down means I don’t fall behind at all and I can completely relax. I find myself returning to work motivated, focused and with a clear mind that facilitates strategic, long-term thinking in addition to day-to-day execution.

Some companies may view something like a company-wide shutdown as a major cost they can’t afford, but employees aren’t machines that can run non-stop. We know our brains function better and we are motivated when we are healthy and well rested. So perhaps more companies need to consider whether they can afford not to have company-wide shutdowns.

In addition to our summer shutdown, Thumbtackers also enjoy a yearly winter shutdown which accounts for 20+ days in addition to our flexible time-off policy. Interested in joining our team? View our open roles at thumbtack.com/careers.

--

--

Thumbtack People Team
Life @ Thumbtack

We spend our days empowering people from all walks of life to do their work with joy and purpose. Read more about the work we’re doing, and how we’re doing it!