Q&A with Chris Bocage

Chris Bocage
Life @ Thumbtack
Published in
2 min readFeb 25, 2021

Chris Bocage is a member of our NOBLEtacks Employee Resource Group. He has been a member of the Thumbtack team for almost 4 years.

Learn about his experiences at Thumbtack.

What is your primary role at Thumbtack?
At Thumbtack, I’m a Senior Manager, IT Support. Our company mission is to help everyone do life’s work with joy and purpose, and our team mission is to Empower Thumbtack to do. As a group, we enable Thumbtack to get things done. We engage teams and deliver services and support that empower everyone to do the work they love, so that our only limitations are our imaginations — not our technology.

Why did you join Thumbtack?
I joined because of Thumbtack’s mission and the people I was excited to work with. I was intrigued by the problems we are working hard everyday to solve and the ability to do it with a group of talented people.

What excites you about Thumbtack and the future ahead?
Everyday, I’m excited to help Thumbtack grow and scale as a world-class, trusted, global brand. We have a great opportunity ahead of us to unlock the services market and I want to help us win. I am blessed to lead our IT support organization in leveraging technology to enable successful outcomes.

How would you describe Thumbtack’s culture?
Accountable and transparent. My favorite company values are Own It and Say What You Mean. We bring the best people into our organization to take responsibility for their function and openly communicate with team members to solve problems in a collaborative way.

What Employee Resource Groups (ERGs) are you a part of?
I am a member of the NOBLEtacks, N.O.B.L.E. stands for Network of Black Leaders and Employees. NOBLEtacks strives to foster an environment that supports and empowers Black employees at Thumbtack. We work to cultivate a space where Black employees feel welcomed, valued, and are able to succeed and hold space for all voices and look to our allies to advocate for equity within our workplace. At Thumbtack, we’re able to work together to provide a collective message to leadership and make sure we are building a diverse, equitable and inclusive working environment.

How has NOBLEtacks helped to create a culture of belonging at Thumbtack?
Every person deserves to feel like they belong. NOBLEtacks allows me to connect with other employees who share the same struggle. Having colleagues who I can relate to allows me to feel like I am accepted and I belong in the organization.

--

--