Reimagining the Way We Work: Embracing a Homestead Lifestyle in Oklahoma

Thumbtack People Team
Life @ Thumbtack
Published in
4 min readMar 1, 2023

A Q&A with Josh McKeachnie, Senior Manager of Data Analytics

At Thumbtack, we empower our employees to work where they live, and encourage them to grow their careers from where they choose to set down roots. We embrace a virtual-first, not virtual-only working model; where virtual work is coupled with quality in-person connections throughout the year.

In this Q&A, we chatted with Josh McKeachnie, Sr. Manager of Data Analytics. After more than 30 years in Utah, he made a move to Ponca City, Oklahoma in search of more property to build his family’s dream home. Read on to learn more about how Thumbtack is supporting employees like Josh, who do their best work where they are truly happiest.

How long have you been with Thumbtack? What do you do in your current role?

Josh: I’ve worked at Thumbtack for just over 3 and a half years. I am the Data Analytics Senior Manager for Ops Analytics. I specifically oversee all of the analytics for our Sales and Partnerships teams alongside 3 other amazing analysts. We are mostly focused on keeping the company’s supply healthy, but also dabble in demand initiatives as well.

A normal day for me looks like writing SQL to build data tables that power insightful visualizations, tracking success metrics against goals for experiments or company level goals, or in meetings developing strategy with business leaders based on new data and historical performance.

I love what I do because I get to be down “where the rubber meets the road” strategy-wise, while at the same time getting my hands into the data itself.

Where did you recently move from and what sparked your desire to move?

Josh: I lived in Utah for over thirty years, which is where I started and built my career in data analytics. After Thumbtack gave me the option of remote work, my wife and I did a lot of thinking. More property to work with was definitely on our list, as it isn’t so affordable in Utah. We decided to move somewhere far out and away from everything. We ended up finding our spot in Ponca City, Oklahoma near some of my wife’s family. We have 5 acres now and are building our dream home.

What have you been enjoying the most about life in Oklahoma?

Josh: Overall, living in a new place has been an adventure in and of itself! Being close to family we previously did not get to see often has been a huge benefit. Additionally, the lifestyle is a lot slower here than where we lived in Utah — which has been a welcome change. We are leaning into our homesteading urges and learning how to take care of chickens, build fences, and prepare the land for growing food!

How has our virtual-first work model supported your ability to set down roots wherever you want to live?

Josh: It’s been incredible — I absolutely love the freedom and flexibility. My whole family loves that we can be here near family and that I can still maintain a great job that I love doing. We can now have the best of both worlds. I’m pursuing the career path that interests me and keeps me motivated, and my wife and kids get to enjoy the adventures associated with life in Oklahoma. It’s also amazing to know that this doesn’t have to be our last stop. Who knows where we might end up after a while.

What’s your favorite thing about working at Thumbtack?

Josh: Thumbtack’s mission is an important one to me. Being a part of building something that will have an impact on the way the world works is an awesome feeling. I’ve always wanted to be a part of a legacy. I really think that Thumbtack has the ability to shift the dynamic when it comes to homecare. It’s definitely a tough problem to solve, but that’s what makes it even more interesting and impactful to be a part of. Coming to work and noodling through problems with difficult solutions is definitely a selling point for me.

I’ve learned a ton about myself and my family from the work I’ve done in homecare. I’ve also come to realize what is most important to me on both sides of the work-life balance. I don’t think that I would have had the chance to focus on those things without remote work. I know my family is incredibly grateful for this opportunity that we have.

Learn more about Thumbtack’s virtual-first, not virtual-only working model here.

--

--

Thumbtack People Team
Life @ Thumbtack

We spend our days empowering people from all walks of life to do their work with joy and purpose. Read more about the work we’re doing, and how we’re doing it!