Thumbtack and Pursuit Join Forces to Build a More Inclusive Tech Industry

TackFellow Michael Amparo Shares His Career Journey from Best Buy to Thumbtack

Thumbtack People Team
Life @ Thumbtack
5 min readSep 27, 2022

--

The past few years have given us the chance to really reimagine our workplace and what it means to be a leader in the industry. When we designed Thumbtack’s virtual-first environment, we also set a clear strategy around diversity in recruiting to build a more equitable model with inclusion at the forefront. Our goal was to provide the same opportunities and visibility for all — regardless of gender, ethnicity, socio-economic background, or geography.

To help with these efforts, we’ve partnered with Pursuit, an organization whose mission is to create economic transformation and opportunity by bringing more diversified talent into tech. Through an intensive Fellowship program for individuals from low-income backgrounds, Pursuit trains the next generation to advance their careers and land their first tech jobs, more than quadrupling their annual salaries. Pursuit works with hiring partners to place Fellows in jobs at more than 150 leading companies, from fast-growing startups to large public corporations. By partnering with Pursuit for three years, Thumbtack has committed to not only hiring new engineers from nontraditional backgrounds but also to retaining, nurturing, and developing their talent through on-the-job support — all of which contributes to our shared vision for a more inclusive tech industry.

Earlier this year, Thumbtack hired two recent Fellows from Pursuit, culminating in a special Gong ceremony. The ritual honors the hard work and determination that Fellows have demonstrated to complete the intensive program and secure job placement. It also recognizes the commitment that hiring partners like Thumbtack have made to creating opportunities in the industry. “We really value our partnership with Pursuit, our missions are strongly aligned. The reason we started Thumbtack was to create economic opportunity for people,” says Thumbtack co-founder Sander Daniels.

Here we chat with Michael Amparo about his career journey, the Pursuit Program, and what it’s like being a “TackFellow” — a full-time software engineer apprentice at Thumbtack.

What first sparked your interest in technology?

I’ve been interested in tech my whole life. My uncle, who was always around computers, had a big influence on me. He taught me multiplication and division early on, which set me on a path toward success in math and science. I majored in math at Baruch College, but ultimately, I wanted to get a master’s in computer engineering or computer science.

What prompted you to apply for the Pursuit Fellowship program?

At the time, I was working full-time at Best Buy and going to school full-time for computer engineering at City College of New York. I was stressed and money was getting tight. A co-worker of mine told me about Pursuit and how you don’t pay for anything until you’re placed in a job. I read up about the program and applied that same night. From the first session, Pursuit made me feel welcome, included, and part of the tech community. It’s a lot like how I felt when I started at Thumbtack.

Tell us a little about the program.

The first eight months of the core full-stack web program were devoted to learning both front-end and back-end development, and Pursuit hosted regular talks from people in the industry. During the remaining four months, we attended professional skills workshops centered around job readiness. Volunteers from the tech industry taught us about data structures and algorithms to help prepare us for the technical side of interviews. We learned a lot and were surrounded by people in the industry, which really immersed us in that culture. For people who haven’t grown up around Silicon Valley or the tech world, having access to this network felt vital to our success.

What was your biggest takeaway from the Pursuit Fellowship?

Understanding my imposter syndrome helped me overcome any anxiety I had about embarking on this career journey. Growing up in working-class Washington Heights, I wasn’t surrounded by engineers, doctors, and scientists and didn’t think those careers were options for me. From the moment I started, I could tell I was really going to like the program. Pursuit made me feel welcome; they make the Fellows feel included and part of the tech community, which I think is very important. They hosted regular talks from people in the industry. We learned a lot and were constantly surrounded by people working in the industry, which helped truly immerse us in the tech culture. For most of us, who didn’t grow up around Silicon Valley, being able to network with people in the industry was vital to our success. It gave us an introduction and helped us feel integrated into the tech world

Tell us about your experience at Thumbtack so far.

I’m a software engineer apprentice on the Thumbtack pro targeting team, and I work hands-on with an engineering mentor. Our team collects info about skills, specialties, and preferences from pros to better match them to specific jobs. I’m learning a lot of new things and also building on the knowledge I already have. I feel much more involved than I have at other jobs, and there are also opportunities to learn on my own through weekly talks, meetings, and events.

What’s one exciting project you’ve worked on?

I just finished up a migration from a legacy system to a newer system. Thumbtack is in the process of transitioning from a monolith application to more of a microservice architecture. So, instead of all the services being dependent on one server, you’re splitting them up into smaller pieces, where you’re better able to control individual parts.

How has your experience at Thumbtack supported your career goals thus far?

I think the fast pace at Thumbtack has helped build my confidence around having long-term success in a career as a developer. My mentor has helped me refine my skills to think more like an engineer, better communicate what I’m working on, develop new skills, and be more organized in my coding. I see myself as a full-stack engineer now and can picture growing into a more senior role with time.

Michael is one of hundreds of Pursuit Fellows fulfilling their dream of becoming software engineers. Learn more about Pursuit and the Fellowship here.

At Thumbtack, we’re committed to training engineers from nontraditional backgrounds to help build an inclusive industry. If you’re interested in our TackFellows Apprenticeship program or current full-time roles, check out our openings at thumbtack.com/careers.

--

--

Thumbtack People Team
Life @ Thumbtack

We spend our days empowering people from all walks of life to do their work with joy and purpose. Read more about the work we’re doing, and how we’re doing it!