Writing Prompt: Movies that connect you to People, Experiences and Places in your life

Staying Connected to my father, Melvyn Brown

Watching movies with Fathers and Sons

Warren Brown
Life Torch
Published in
3 min readDec 23, 2023

--

It is almost six months since my dad passed away. I still miss my dad and watching movies with fathers and sons is one of the ways that I stay connected to him. My dad loved writing as much as I do. He loved watching movies and he was taken as a child to watch movies with his grandmother. As a child growing up, dad took the family, my mother, sister and myself to watch movies every weekend. Sometimes we went to movies on both Saturdays and Sundays. There were days when we went for three shows on a Saturday. The morning show, the matinee and the evening show. We would go for lunch, tea and snacks between the movies, this was so much fun and golden memories my sister and myself remember till today.

Image provided by the Author of his Father, Melvyn Brown

Today, I watched the movie “A Good Day to Die Hard”, with John McLane (Bruce Willis) and his son. This was an action movie, which both dad and myself enjoyed. I will be watching “Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade”, followed by “Indiana Jones and the…

--

--